Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Jorge (Papo) Ross


Latin music singer-songwriter, musical director

Song – " Dingale a Ella" - Now playing...


Bio
Jorge (Papo) Ross was born in San Pedro de Macoris, Dominican Republic. At age 18, he became musical director to his first professional group, known as Orquesta La Moderna of San Pedro; a few years later he was acting as the musical director of Sui Generis. Later on, he founded a group by the name of Sony’s Power, and soon his reputation spread over the island, where he had the opportunity to play on many occasions with some of the best musicians in the country, including the likes of July Mateo Rasputin, Marcos Caminero, Sergio Vargas, Ruby Perez, and others. Ross cites among his many musical influences Felix Del Rosario, Johnny Ventura, Cheo Feliciano, Celia Cruz, Wilfrido Vargas and many others.

Ross moved to Montreal in 1990 to serve as a musical director for another Dominican group based in the city, and in 1992 he founded Orquesta Pambiche. Since then, this 13-piece powerhouse has established itself as a leader on Canada’s Latin music scene, with its grooving Afro-Latin rhythms, deeply rooted in the Caribbean. The group has performed more than 500 concerts, receiving rave reviews for their shows at the International Hispanic Fiesta (Toronto), Montreal’s ¡Oyé! Series, the 1994 Detroit/Montreux Jazz Festival and four explosive performances in front of 20,000 people at the 1993, 1994, 1996 and 1999 editions of the Montreal International Jazz Festival.

Papo Ross & Orquesta Pambiche has toured extensively in support of its Juno-nominated debut album, Vamo’ a Pambicha’. The infectious combination of merengue, salsa, bachata, cumbia and other Latin rhythms make Papo Ross & Orquesta Pambiche one of the hottest Latin acts north of the border. Production of the group’s second album is currently underway.

Website
www.myspace.com/papoross

Discography
Vamo’ a Pambicha’ (1996)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 1993

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Jorge (Papo) Ross


Auteur-compositeur-interprète de musique latine, directeur musical

La chanson - « Dingale a Ella » est en ondes...

Bio
Jorge (Papo) Ross est né à San Pedro de Macoris, en République dominicaine. À l’âge de 18 ans, il devient directeur musical de son premier orchestre, l’Orquesta La Moderna de San Pedro. Quelques années plus tard, il joue le même rôle auprès de l’ensemble Sui Generis. Par la suite, il fonde un groupe du nom de Sony’s Power, et bien vite sa réputation se répand dans l’île et il a l’occasion de jouer avec certains des meilleurs musiciens de son pays, incluant July Mateo Rasputin, Marcos Caminero, Sergio Vargas, Ruby Perez et plusieurs autres. Ross cite parmi ceux qui l’ont influencé Felix Del Rosario, Johnny Ventura, Cheo Feliciano, Celia Cruz, Wilfrido Vargas, entre autres.

Il déménage à Montréal en 1990 pour devenir directeur musical d’un groupe dominicain, puis fonde l’Orquesta Pambiche. Depuis lors, cet ensemble de 13 musiciens s’est révélé comme un leader sur la scène de la musique latine au Canada. Ses rythmes afro-latins sont enracinés profondément dans les Caraïbes. L’orchestre a donné plus de 500 concerts, et reçu de belles critiques pour ses spectacles à la International Hispanic Fiesta (Toronto), les séries ¡Oyé! de Montréal, le Festival de jazz Détroit/Montreux 1994 ainsi qu’aux éditions 1993, 1994, 1996 et 1999 du Festival International de Jazz de Montréal.

Papo Ross et l’Orquesta Pambiche ont fait une longue tournée afin de promouvoir la sortie de leur premier album, Vamo’ a Pambicha’, mis en nomination au gala des Juno. Le mariage heureux des rythmes de merengue, salsa, bachata, cumbia et autres musiques latines ont fait de Papo Ross et l’Orquesta Pambiche des favoris de la scène latine du Nord. Leur second album est actuellement en production.


Site Internet
www.myspace.com/papoross


Discographie
Vamo’ a Pambicha’ (1996)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1993