Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Jory Nash


Singer-songwriter, guitarist

Song – "Our Time Again" - Now playing...

Bio
Jory Nash is a Toronto-based, independent singer-songwriter. His music blends elements of folk, jazz, pop, country, soul and blues. Nash has recorded six solo albums, including his latest, New Blue Day (2009), which was selected as the Penguin Eggs magazine 2009 Critic's Poll Album of the Year. He has sold about 12,000 units, all independently, mostly from the stage. He plays acoustic guitar, both fingerstyle and flat-pick strum, and also plays piano and five-string banjo.

Nash has criss-crossed North America several times, playing folk festivals, folk clubs, concert series and house concerts. He has built a large, loyal fan base and has been fortunate enough to see most of North America in the process. Unusual things tend to happen to Nash on the road, and when not legally bound to silence he will incorporate these events into his onstage storytelling. He has a lot of stories.

Nash has been very active on the Ontario folk festival circuit, having had the pleasure of playing Hillside, Summerfolk, Home County Folk Festival, Stewart Park, Shelter Valley Folk Festival, Minesing Unplugged, Toronto City Roots, Winterfolk, Eaglewood, Live From The Rock and many others. He's past recipient of the Ontario Council of Folk Festivals "Songs From The Heart" songwriting award. His songs have been included on numerous compilation albums and his music has been played on more than 200 radio music programs/stations around the world, including BBC (U.K.), NPR (U.S.), CBC and XM Satellite.


Performances/news this month
July 9-10 - Collingwood, ON, Harvest Moon Weekend @ Blue Mountain
July 17 - Guelph, Folkway Music, Songwriting Workshop
July 24- Lake St. Peter, ON, Private Concert
July 25 - Milton, ON, House Concert
July 29 - Brampton, ON, Garden Square
August 4 - Marathon, ON, Concerts In The Parking Lot
August 5 - Rossport, ON, Serendipity Cafe
August 6-8 - Red Rock, ON, Live From The Rock Festival
August 9 - Wawa, ON, Rock Island Lodge

Website
www.jorynash.com 
www.myspace.com/jorynash

Discography
New Blue Day (2009)
Folk Jazz Blues & Soul (2007)
Spaz Loves Weezie (2004)
Lo Fi Northern Blues (2002)
Tangle With The Ghost (2000)
One Way Down (1998)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1994

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Jory Nash


Auteur-compositeur-interprète, guitariste

La chanson - « Our Time Again » est en ondes...

Bio
Jory Nash est un auteur-compositeur-interprète indépendant de Toronto. Sa musique allie le folk, jazz, pop, country, soul et blues. Nash a enregistré six albums solo, incluant son récent New Blue Day (2009), sélectionné comme le favori des critiques par le Penguin Eggs magazine en 2009. Il en a vendu 12 000 copies, surtout lors de ses spectacles. Il joue de la guitare acoustique, à l’aide de ses doigts ou avec un pic, et aussi du piano et du banjo à cinq cordes.

Jory Nash s’est produit plusieurs fois à travers l’Amérique du Nord dans des festivals et clubs folk, de même que dans des séries de concerts. Son public loyal lui est acquis, et il a eu la chance de voir du pays. Plusieurs anecdotes singulières sur ses pérégrinations seront un jour incorporées dans ses chansons, lorsqu’il lui sera légalement permis de le faire.

Nash a été très actif dans le circuit folk en Ontario, où il a pu se produire dans les festivals Hillside, Summerfolk, Home County Folk Festival, Stewart Park, Shelter Valley Folk Festival, Minesing Unplugged, Toronto City Roots, Winterfolk, Eaglewood, Live From The Rock et plusieurs autres. Il a déjà remporté le prix Chanson du fond du cœur du Conseil des festivals folk de l’Ontario. Ses œuvres ont été incluses dans plusieurs compilations et sa musique jouée dans plus de 200 émissions/stations de musique du monde entier, dont BBC (R.-U.), NPR (É.-U.), CBC et XM Satellite.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
9-10 juillet - Collingwood, Ont., Harvest Moon Weekend @ Blue Mountain
17 juillet - Guelph, Folkway Music, atelier d’écriture de chansons
24 juillet - Lake St. Peter, Ont., Private Concert
25 juillet - Milton, Ont., House Concert
29 juillet - Brampton, Ont., Garden Square
4 août- Marathon, Ont., Concerts In The Parking Lot
5 août - Rossport, Ont., Serendipity Cafe
6-8 août - Red Rock, Ont., Live From The Rock Festival
9 août - Wawa, Ont., Rock Island Lodge

Site Internet
www.jorynash.com
www.myspace.com/jorynash


Discographie
New Blue Day (2009)
Folk Jazz Blues & Soul (2007)
Spaz Loves Weezie (2004)
Lo Fi Northern Blues (2002)
Tangle With The Ghost (2000)
One Way Down (1998)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1994