Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Kat Danser


Songwriter, guitarist

Song – "Little Allis"
- Now playing...

Bio
Edmonton-based guitarist, songwriter and vocalist Kat Danser throws down funky, laid-back rhythms and thought-provoking lyrics. Her swamp blues style, steeped in early roots and blues traditions, distills a refreshing approach to the music.


On her third and current album, Passin'-A-Time, Danser's evocative songwriting draws a direct line from the wheat fields of Saskatchewan to the cotton fields of Mississippi. Danser has a deep passion, understanding and respect for Delta blues, and has made several study trips to the Mississippi Delta, drawing heavily on the rich and fertile musical climate there. This album is a testament to those cultural encounters, rich in tradition yet modern in tone.

Passin'-A-Time charted No. 1 on Alberta's CKUA radio station over four consecutive weeks, and Top 10 on the Earshot national chart. It was chosen as one of the Top 10 Albums of 2010 by CKUA and voted the Best Roots and Blues Album of the Year by the Canadian-based Blues Underground Network.

Danser has performed at major blues, jazz and folk festivals in Calgary, Edmonton, Lunenburg, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Yellowknife, Saltspring Island, Lloydminster, Lethbridge and Tucson, Arizona. She's been reviewed or interviewed on CBC Radio, Global TV, CKUA, CTV, and in the pages of the Halifax Chronicle, Georgia Straight, Edmonton Journal, Winnipeg Free Press and Edmonton Sun. She was interviewed for the film project Blues Women in Canada; has directed her first film, Rails & Rivers: Searching for the Heart of the Blues; and co-hosted a recent edition of Nach’l Blues on CKUA with Holger Petersen.

Danser, an Ethnomusicology graduate student at the University of Alberta, is currently in pre-production with film maker Michael McDonald for a new documentary project titled Women in Blues: Turn the Page. She's nominated for New Blues Artist of the Year at the 2012 Maple Blues Awards, which take place in January.

Performances/news this month
November 26 - Toronto, Massey Hall, as part of the 2011 Women's Blues Revue

Website
www.katdanser.com

Discography

Passin'-A-Time (2010)
Something Familiar (2007)
Ascension (2002)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2001

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Kat Danser


Auteure-compositrice-interprète et guitariste de blues

La chanson – « Little Allis » est en ondes...

Bio

L’auteure-compositrice-interprète et guitariste Kat Danser, d’Edmonton, propose des rythmes funky accompagnés de textes provocants. Son style de blues s’inspire des traditions des débuts du roots et du blues, et apporte du renouveau à ce style.

Pour son troisième et récent album, Passin'-A-Time, Kat Danser évoque autant les champs de blé de la Saskatchewan que les champs de coton du Mississippi. Elle démontre une grande compréhension et un respect du blues du delta du Mississippi, sa musique étant fortement imprégnée du riche climat musical qui y règne. Son album est un témoin de cette tradition, dans un enrobage moderne.

Passin'-A-Time a occupé le sommet du palmarès de la station albertaine CKUA durant quatre semaines consécutives, en plus d’être dans les 10 premiers albums du palmarès national Earshot. L’album a été choisi parmi les 10 meilleurs de 2010 par CKUA et désigné comme le meilleur album roots et meilleur album de blues la même année par le Blues Underground Network.

Kat Danser s’est produite dans des festivals de blues, jazz et folk à Calgary, Edmonton, Lunenburg, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Yellowknife, Saltspring Island, Lloydminster, Lethbridge et Tucson, Arizona. Elle a été l’objet de critiques ou d’entrevues sur des médias comme la radio de la CBC, à Global TV, CKUA, CTV et dans les pages des journaux Halifax Chronicle, Georgia Straight, Edmonton Journal, Winnipeg Free Press et Edmonton Sun. Elle a été interviewée dans le cadre du projet cinématographique Blues Women in Canada; a réalisé son premier film, Rails & Rivers: Searching for the Heart of the Blues, et fut récemment co-animatrice de Nach’l Blues sur CKUA, avec Holger Petersen.

Kat Danser, qui possède un diplôme en ethnomusicologie de l’Université de l’Alberta, est actuellement en pré-production avec le réalisateur Michael McDonald pour un nouveau documentaire intitulé Women in Blues: Turn the Page. Elle est en nomination pour le prix Nouvel artiste blues de l’année à la prochaine édition du gala Maple Blues, qui aura lieu en janvier 2012.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
26 novembre - Toronto, Massey Hall, dans le cadre de la Women's Blues Revue 2011

Site Internet
www.katdanser.com

Discographie
Passin'-A-Time (2010)
Something Familiar (2007)
Ascension (2002)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2001