Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Keith and Renée


Singer-songwriters Keith Macpherson and Renée Lamoureux

Song – "The One" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Keith Macpherson and Renée Lamoureux, formerly known as Easily Amused, are now known as Keith and Renée, a dynamic duo who've been touring and recording fiercely over the past 10 years.


Keith, hailing from Winnipeg, met Renée in a small church just outside the city in Île-des-Chênes, where Renee grew up. Keith went to hear Renée sing after he was told that their voices would blend well together. He called her the next day and asked if she wanted to jam sometime. Renée was freaked out at first, then took him up on his offer. They began writing music at Keith’s house in River Heights and soon started touring across North America, first as a four-piece band and then branching off into a duo. Since then the two have not stopped, releasing four albums, touring endlessly all over the world spending the last two summers in Kenya, Africa.


Keith and Renée have appeared on Canada AM, Open Mike with Mike Bullard and Vicky Gabereau, and in 2006 Keith finished in the Top 10 on Canadian Idol. Their songs have been featured in an AT&T commercial in the United States and Puerto Rico, on Degrassi The Next Generation, Degrassi goes Hollywood, Canadian Idol, in the Hallmark movie For the Love of Grace and the film The Kate Logan Affair. Their song "Good Year" was chosen as Manitoba’s Homecoming 2010 official anthem, alongside Bachman-Turner Overdrive’s "You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet."


In 2008 and 2009, Keith and Renée were asked to join Craig Kielburger’s Free The Children foundation, performing in 150 schools across Canada, speaking to youth about positive change and spreading their message through their music, ultimately reaching more than 100,000 young people. Following up on this activity, the duo traveled and performed for two summers in Kenya, Africa, and Dubai.


Their new album, Detours, was produced by Stuart Cameron, Blake Manning, Creighton Doane ("It’s Complicated") with Keith and Renée. It was recorded at Catherine North Studios in Hamilton, in four days, in the former-church-turned-studio, where the duo slept on couches at night. Keith and Renée had not planned to record a new album at the time, but got a call from Cameron, who said he really wanted to work with them.


Website
www.keithandrenee.com


Discography
Detours (2010)
Revolution (2007)
Simple Stuff (2004)
Novice (2001)


SOCAN Connection
Members since 1999

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Keith and Renée


Keith Macpherson et Renée Lamoureux, auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes

La chanson - « The One » est en ondes...

Bio
Keith Macpherson et Renée Lamoureux, connus auparavant sous le nom de Easily Amused, ont maintenant adopté le nom Keith and Renée. Ce duo dynamique enregistre et fait des tournées depuis déjà 10 ans.


Keith, originaire de Winnipeg, rencontre Renée dans une petite église située près d’Île-des-Chênes, Manitoba, où celle-ci a grandi. Il était allé l’entendre chanter après avoir entendu dire que leurs deux voix se marieraient bien. Lors de son appel le lendemain, il l’invite à travailler avec lui, et même si elle avait des appréhensions au début, elle accepte. Ils commencent à écrire ensemble dans la maison de Keith à River Heights et à faire des tournées nord-américaines, d’abord comme quatuor, puis en duo. Ils n’ont jamais arrêté depuis, ont lancé quatre albums et ont voyagé partout dans le monde, passant les deux derniers étés au Kenya.


Keith et Renée ont participé aux émissions Canada AM, Open Mike with Mike Bullard et Vicky Gabereau, et en 2006, Keith se classait parmi les 10 finalistes à Canadian Idol. Leurs chansons ont été incluses dans une publicité d’AT&T aux États-Unis et à Porto Rico, dans les émissions Degrassi The Next Generation, Degrassi goes Hollywood, Canadian Idol, le film Hallmark For the Love of Grace et le film The Kate Logan Affair. Leur chanson « Good Year » a été choisie comme chanson officielle de l’événement Retrouvailles Manitoba, avec « You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet » de Bachman-Turner Overdrive.


En 2008 et 2009, Keith et Renée ont été invités à se joindre à la fondation Enfants Entraide de Craig Kielburger, ont donné des prestations dans 150 écoles du pays, communiquant un message positif aux jeunes grâce à leur musique. Ils ont ainsi rejoint plus de 100 000 jeunes. Par la suite, le duo a voyagé et offert des spectacles au Kenya et à Dubaï durant deux étés.


Leurs nouvel album, Detours, fut produit par Stuart Cameron, Blake Manning, Creighton Doane (« It’s Complicated ») et eux-mêmes. Il fut enregistré aux Catherine North Studios de Hamilton, en quatre jours. Cette ancienne église, devenue studio, leur a même servi de dortoir. Keith et Renée n’avaient pas prévu d’enregistrer un nouvel album tout de suite, mais un appel de Stuart Cameron les en a convaincus.


Site Internet
www.keithandrenee.com


Discographie
Detours (2010)
Revolution (2007)
Simple Stuff (2004)
Novice (2001)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membres depuis 1999