Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Kim Beggs


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Firewater Bones" - Now playing...

Bio
Blue Bones, the latest album from Yukon singer-songwriter Kim Beggs, delivers on the promise of her first two critically-acclaimed albums, Wanderer’s Paean and Streetcar Heart.

Sincere and vulnerable, clear-eyed and tough, Beggs explores familiar themes of love, loss, and hard-fought freedom on Blue Bones. Effortless grace and breezy delivery have become her vocal trademarks, and she's supported by some of North America’s most respected roots musicians, to make this the best-sounding album of an already impressive career.

Beggs' music transcends style and fashion. Without so much as a backward glance at what others consider "hip," she instead makes music that is true. It's bold, dark and sincere, with an instantly recognizable voice. Working with producer Steve Dawson on Blue Bones, Beggs found a collaborator capable of helping her bring her vision to its fullest fruition. The pair achieved a high lonesome sound with a distinctively Canadian feel.

Beggs is currently a nominee for two 2011 Western Canadian Music Awards, for Roots Solo Album of the Year (Blue Bones) and Multi-Media Award for "Longest Dream," from Blue Bones, a music video she directed, animated and co-edited. She's also currently a finalist in the 2011 International Songwriting Competition, for "Longest Dream." She's already been honoured with a 2007 Western Canadian Music Award for Roots Solo Album of the Year (for Wanderer's Paean) and a 2007 Canadian Folk Music Award for Emerging Artist of the Year.

Beggs was the iTunes Spotlight feature in the Indie Singer Songwriter category in August 2010, and the No. 1 most played artist on the CBC Galaxie Folk Roots Channel in June 2011. The Globe and Mail declared her song "Maiden Heart" an Essential Track.

Beggs has shared the stage with Buffy St Marie, Stephen Fearing, Ramblin’ Jack Elliot and Chris Jagger, to name a few, and has played at the Edmonton Folk Music Festival, Ottawa Folk Festival, Lunenburg Harbour Folk Festival, Vancouver 2010 Cultural Olympiad, and Trafalgar Square in London England for Canada Day (2008).


Website
www.kimbeggs.com
www.facebook.com/KimBeggsMusic
www.myspace.com/kimbeggs

Discography

Blue Bones (2010)
Wanderer's Paean (2006)
Streetcar Heart (2004)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2002

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Kim Beggs


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson – « Firewater Bones » est en ondes...

Bio
Blue Bones, le plus récent album de l’ auteure-compositrice-interprète Kim Beggs, originaire du Yukon, est la suite logique du succès de ses deux précédents opus, Wanderer’s Paean et Streetcar Heart.

Sincère and vulnérable, lucide et forte, Kim Beggs explore les thèmes familiers de l’amour, de la perte et de la liberté chèrement acquise dans Blue Bones. Avec sa grâce sans effort et son interprétation très particulière, de même qu’avec l’aide de musiciens roots très respectés, son album est le meilleur à ce jour, dans une carrière pourtant déjà impressionnante.

La musique de Kim Beggs transcende les styles et les modes. Sans tenir compte de ce que certains trouvent hip, elle fait une musique intègre. Ses pièces sont fortes, noires et sincères, et sa voix est immédiatement identifiable. Steve Dawson a produit Blue Bones, et cette collaboration l’a aidée à incarner sa vision. Ils ont réussi à produire un son
« high lonesome » bien canadien et distinctif.

Kim Beggs a été mise en nomination pour deux prix de la musique canadienne de l’Ouest, catégorie album solo roots (Blue Bones) et multimédias pour la vidéo « Longest Dream », du même album. Elle a réalisé, animé et travaillé au montage de la vidéo. Elle est aussi finaliste de l’International Songwriting Competition 2011, pour « Longest Dream ». Elle fut lauréate 2007 du prix de la musique canadienne de l’Ouest, catégorie album solo roots (pour Wanderer's Paean), et de celui de l’artiste émergente aux Prix de musique folk canadienne la même année.

Elle fut honorée du iTunes Spotlight dans la catégorie auteure-compositrice-interprète indépendante en août 2010, et fut l’artiste la plus exécutée sur le canal Galaxie Folk Roots de la CBC en juin 2011. The Globe and Mail a déclaré sa chanson « Maiden Heart » une pièce essentielle.


Kim Beggs a partagé la scène avec Buffy St Marie, Stephen Fearing, Ramblin’ Jack Elliot et Chris Jagger, entre autres, et s’est produite aux festivals folk d’Edmonton, d’Ottawa, de Lunenburg, et lors de l’Olympiade culturelle 2010 de Vancouver ainsi qu’au Trafalgar Square de Londres pour la Fête du Canada en 2008.


Site Internet
www.kimbeggs.com
www.facebook.com/KimBeggsMusic
www.myspace.com/kimbeggs

Discographie
Blue Bones (2010)
Wanderer's Paean (2006)
Streetcar Heart (2004)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2002