Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Kim Davis


R&B singer-songwriter

Song – "Back in the Game" - Now playing...

Bio
Kim Davis commands listeners' attention using only the instrument of her voice. Her songs offer glimpses into her life, told through melodies of hope and love. Her young career is already full of noteworthy accomplishments, and her future looks promising.

Even before she released her debut album Live, Love, Learn in 2009, Kim had opened shows for the likes of Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Robin Thicke, John Legend, Melanie Fiona and more. She's been featured in national Canadian magazines such as Cream World, Exposé, Peace, Polysh and Sway; covered by newspapers such as The Toronto Sun and The National Post; and received international exposure in Fader Magazine, The Ave Magazine, Urban Voice and Hip Hop Japan.

The Toronto native has seen her relentless work ethic pay off with fan appreciation and nationwide peer recognition for her own distinctive brand of R&B. In 2010, Davis earned her first Juno Award nomination (in the Reggae Recording of the Year catgory) for her single, “Show Me The Way.” She also earned her third nomination for a D.J. Stylus Award (for R&B Artist of the Year) and four nominations for Buffalo radio station WBLK 97.3's Unsigned Hype Awards, which she has already won thrice previously (People's Choice Award and both R&B Artist and Single of the Year).


But what really sets Davis apart are her live performances. Whether singing in intimate venues such as The St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts or The Hard Rock Café, or blaring her vocals to thousands of fans at Toronto’s Pride Parade, Dundas Square or Roy Thompson Hall, Davis is able to evoke a wide range of emotion in her audiences, taking them on a unique journey with a voice unlike any other in her genre.

Davis has attained her success despite having faced great personal adversity. Instead of retelling traumatic stories, she chooses to inspire hope and instill moral and social values in her audiences. She connects with women locally through a homeless shelter in her hometown, and offers motivational speeches as well.


Website
www.kimdavisonline.com

Discography
Club Love (feat. Alexander The Great) (single, 2010)
Live, Love, Learn (album, 2009)
Show Me The Way (single, 2009)
This Christmas (single, 2002)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 2007

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Kim Davis


Auteure-compositrice-interprète R&B

La chanson – « Back in the Game » est en ondes...

Bio
Kim Davis commande l’attention uniquement avec sa voix. Ses chansons offrent des aperçus de sa vie, ce sont des mélodies d’espoir et d’amour. Sa prometteuse carrière est déjà remplie d’accomplissements.

Avant même de lancer son premier album, Live, Love, Learn, en 2009, Kim Davis avait fait la première partie d’artistes comme Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Robin Thicke, John Legend, Melanie Fiona et plusieurs autres. Des articles sur elle ont paru dans des magazines canadiens comme Cream World, Exposé, Peace, Polysh et Sway, des journaux comme The Toronto Sun et The National Post et des publications internationales comme Fader Magazine, The Ave Magazine, Urban Voice et Hip Hop Japan.

L’artiste native de Toronto, qui possède une forte éthique de travail, a vu celle-ci récompensée par l’appréciation de ses fans et de ses collègues grâce à sa version unique du R&B. En 2010, Kim Davis est nommée pour la première fois aux prix Juno (catégorie enregistrement reggae de l’année), pour sa chanson « Show Me The Way ». Elle a aussi été nommée trois fois pour un prix D.J. Stylus (catégorie artiste reggae de l’année) et quatre fois à la station WBLK 97,3 de Buffalo, pour le concours des « Unsigned Hype Awards », qu’elle a remporté trois fois dans différentes catégories.

Ce qui la distingue surtout, c’est sa présence sur scène. Que ce soit dans des salles intimes comme le Centre des Arts St. Lawrence ou le Hard Rock Café, ou au défilé de la Fierté gaie à Toronto, au Square Dundas ou au Roy Thompson Hall, Kim Davis provoque une large gamme d’émotions chez ses auditeurs et leur fait faire un voyage unique grâce à sa voix sans pareille.

Kim Davis a atteint ce succès malgré beaucoup de problèmes personnels. Plutôt que de raconter des histoires traumatisantes, elle préfère donner de l’espoir et des valeurs sociales à ses auditoires. Elle rencontre des femmes dans des centres pour sans abris de sa ville natale et offre aussi des conférences de motivation.


Site Internet
www.kimdavisonline.com

Discographie

Club Love (avec Alexander The Great) (simple, 2010)
Live, Love, Learn (album, 2009)
Show Me The Way (simple, 2009)
This Christmas (simple, 2002)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2007