Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Kinnie Starr


Singer-songwriter

Song – "A Different Day" - Now playing...

Bio
Emerging from a background of visual arts and a degree in Women’s Studies from Queen’s University, Kinnie Starr originally signed to Mercury/Island/DefJam after a massive bidding war in 1996. Starr has since enjoyed slow-building working relationships with Lakeshore Records USA, Maple Music Canada, and Maple Music’s flagship 2006 label, Fontana USA. A prolific writer, Starr is currently signed to a publishing deal with ole.

Starr has worked with industry heavy hitters Wendy and Lisa (Prince), David Campbell (Beck’s father), Carmen Rizzo (Alanis Morisette), Chris Bruce and Earl Harvin (Seal, The The), Tegan and Sara, and Nelly Furtado, who acknowledges Starr as a key influence.


Starr’s songs have been featured on television programs The L-Word and Thirteen, and in Zeller’s advertisements, as well as on Le Château’s regular national playlists and Fashion Television Canada. She has toured Germany, Japan, Spain, England, the US and Canada, and performed in Canada’s National Aboriginal Achievement Awards twice (Starr is of mixed European and Mohawk descent). In 2003 she was head-hunted for her “rare and unique frame” and cast in Cirque du Soleil’s X-rated show, Zumanity. That same year she was nominated for a Juno as Best New Artist. The Royal British Museum in Victoria recognized Starr as one of British Columbia’s cultural icons in 2008.

In 2010, the tri-lingual Starr released her fifth album, A Different Day, thru Last Gang Labels (Metric, Death Cab for Cutie). Produced by Chin Injeti, the album is a focused collection of optimistic head-nodding songs exclusively about love – platonic love, broken love, and love uncovered. Often pegged for her fierce intelligence and ability as a rapper, A Different Day turns the page onto Starr’s chanteuse-like grace, delving into her love of songwriting with tenderly paced phrasing, electric and acoustic guitars, and soaring melodies.

Starr is a "behind the scenes" social activist, working with youth whenever possible. She's visited more than 60 schools in the past four years as a mentor through Artstarts in Schools, promoting literacy and authentic expression through hip-hop and poetry. She also teaches part-time for the Manitoba Audio Recording Industry Association (MARIA), and co-founded Vancouver’s Aboriginal Music Lab with Sal Fererras and Vancouver Community College in 2006.

Starr recently published a book of her own illustrations and poetry, entitled How I Learned To Run (House of Parlance, 2008/2009); a nod to her visual art background and a contemplative look at history, sexuality and love.

Website
www.myspace.com/kinniestarr

Discography
A Different Day (2010)
Anything (2006)
Sun Again (2003)
Tune-Up (2000)
Tidy (1996)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1994

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Kinnie Starr


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson - « A Different Day » est en ondes...

Bio
Après des études en arts visuels et en études féminines à l’Université Queen’s, Kinnie Starr signe un contrat avec Mercury/Island/DefJam en 1996. Elle a depuis des relations d’affaires avec Lakeshore Records USA, Maple Music Canada et la nouvelle étiquette de Maple Music, Fontana USA. Très prolifique, elle a aussi un contrat d’édition avec ole.

Kinnie Starr a travaillé avec Wendy et Lisa (Prince), David Campbell (le père de Beck), Carmen Rizzo (Alanis Morisette), Chris Bruce et Earl Harvin (Seal, The The), Tegan and Sara et Nelly Furtado, qui la considère comme une influence majeure sur sa musique.

Ses chansons ont été placées dans des émissions télévisées comme The L-Word et Thirteen, des annonces de Zellers, de même que sur les trames sonores régulières de la chaîne Le Château et à Fashion Television Canada. Elle a fait des tournées en Allemagne, au Japon, en Espagne, en Angleterre, aux États-Unis et au Canada, et a offert deux fois des prestations lors des Prix nationaux d’excellence décernés aux Autochtones (elle est à moitié mohawk). En 2003, elle est recrutée pour son « physique rare et unique » et fait partie de la distribution du spectacle Zumanity, du Cirque du Soleil. La même année, elle est nommée aux Prix Juno dans la catégorie Révélation. Le Royal British Museum de Victoria a décerné à Kinnie Starr le titre « d’icône culturelle » de la Colombie-Britannique en 2008.

En 2010, l’artiste trilingue lance son 5e album, A Different Day, sur les étiquettes Last Gang (Metric, Death Cab for Cutie). Produit par Chin Injeti, l’album est une collection de chansons optimistes sur l’amour – l’amour platonique, l’amour brisé et l’amour trouvé. Remarqué pour son intelligence et les talents de rappeuse de son interprète, A Different Day écrit une autre page des talents de chanteuse de Kinnie Starr et de son amour de l’écriture, avec des chansons accompagnées de guitares électriques et acoustiques et des mélodies accrocheuses.

Kinnie Starr est une activiste sociale qui travaille avec les jeunes autant que possible. Elle a visité plus de 60 écoles au cours des quatre dernières années à titre de mentor dans le programme Artstarts in Schools, qui fait la promotion de l’alphabétisation et de l’expression authentique grâce au hip-hop et à la poésie. Elle enseigne à temps partiel pour la Manitoba Audio Recording Industry Association (MARIA), et fut co-fondatrice en 2006 du Aboriginal Music Lab de Vancouver, avec Sal Fererras et le Vancouver Community College.

Kinnie Starr a récemment publié un livre contenant ses propres illustrations et sa poésie, intitulé How I Learned To Run (House of Parlance, 2008/2009). On y trouve des références à ses études en art et un regard contemplatif sur l’histoire, la sexualité et l’amour.

Site Internet
www.myspace.com/kinniestarr

Discographie
A Different Day (2010)
Anything (2006)
Sun Again (2003)
Tune-Up (2000)
Tidy (1996)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1994