Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Kirsten Jones


Singer-songwriter

Song – "The Mad Mile" - Now playing...

Bio
Toronto-based singer/songwriter Kirsten Jones had only one producer in mind for her sophomore album, The Mad Mile: Jayhawks frontman Gary Louris. "I knew I wanted to try getting in touch with Gary before even trying to think of anyone else, so I looked up his management online and just sent them a package," she says. A few months later, Louris’ management e-mailed Jones, saying he was interested in the project. By summer, Jones and Louris were co-writing in her living room, where they also finished all the pre-production for the recording in three days. In the studio, creating a sound that combined her alt-country and folk influences with her own unique writing style came naturally, thanks to Louris' first-hand experience with some of Jones' favourite artists (Dixie Chicks, Lucinda Williams, The Jayhawks).


In what proved to be a banner year, Jones also received a coveted FACTOR award for more than $20,000 toward the making of The Mad Mile, which was released on May 11, 2010. Guests include pedal steel whiz Greg Leisz (Emmylou Harris, Tracy Chapman, Sheryl Crow, Alison Krauss), Oh Susanna, and Blue Rodeo’s Jim Cuddy and Bob Egan.

Throughout the last two years, Jones has had an enviable career path. She was chosen by Billboard Canada as one of five artists to watch in 2010, and The Mad Mile was nominated for a 2010 Juno Award. Jones has been a Top 16 finalist for two years in a row in the Americana category of the International Songwriting Competition (out of more than 15,000 entries); a Top Three finalist in the John Lennon Songwriting Contest in the country category; a finalist in the Kerrville New Folk Contest; and has received honourable mentions in both the Billboard and Nashville Songwriter’s Association songwriting competitions. The Canadian Country Music Awards (CCMAs) invited Jones to perform two years in a row at the prestigious Songwriter's Café. Jones was invited to Nashville to sing on radio station WSM, the official radio home of the Grand Ole Opry, at the Country Music Awards’ Music Fest Celebration.

Previously, Jones released her debut album Drive-In Movie in 2005. It received airplay in all Canadian provinces, peaking at No. 3 on CBC's Galaxie Folk/Roots chart. She has toured throughout the U.S. and Canada, including dates with Jim Cuddy, Lynn Miles, Oh Susanna, Corb Lund, Hayes Carll, Minnie Driver, Rose Cousins among others.

Website
www.myspace.com/kirstenjonesmusic

Discography

The Mad Mile (2010)
Drive-In Movie (2005)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2006

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Kirsten Jones


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson - « The Mad Mile » est en ondes...

Bio
L’auteure-compositrice-interprète Kirsten Jones, de Toronto, n’avait qu’un seul producteur en tête pour son second album, The Mad Mile : le chanteur du groupe Jayhawks, Gary Louris. « Je savais que je voulais le contacter avant de penser à qui que ce soit d’autre, dit-elle, j’ai trouvé sa firme de gérance en ligne et je lui ai envoyé mes choses. » Un peu plus tard, la firme la contactait pour lui dire que Gary Louris était intéressé par son projet. À l’été ils écrivaient ensemble dans son salon, où ils ont terminé la pré-production de l’album en trois jours. En studio, créer un son combinant ses influences alt-country et folk avec son style d’écriture fut facile en raison de l’expérience de Gary Louris auprès d’artistes comme Dixie Chicks, Lucinda Williams, The Jayhawks.

Kirsten Jones reçut aussi une bourse de plus de 20 000$ de FACTOR pour la réalisation de The Mad Mile, lancé le 11 mai 2010. On y retrouve des artistes comme le génie de la pédale steel Greg Leisz (Emmylou Harris, Tracy Chapman, Sheryl Crow, Alison Krauss), Oh Susanna, ainsi que Jim Cuddy et Bob Egan du groupe Blue Rodeo.

Au cours des deux dernières années, la carrière de Kirsten Jones a pris une tournure enviable. Elle fut choisie par Billboard Canada dans sa liste des cinq artistes à surveiller en 2010, et The Mad Mile fut mis en nomination pour un Juno 2010. Elle fut aussi deux années de suite dans les 16 finalistes de la catégorie Americana de l’International Songwriting Competition (parmi plus de 15 000 participants), dans les trois finalistes du John Lennon Songwriting Contest, catégorie country, finaliste du Kerrville New Folk Contest et a obtenu des mentions honorables dans des concours organisés par Billboard et la Nashville Songwriter’s Association. Le gala de l’Association canadienne de la musique country l’a invitée à se produire deux années de suite au Café des auteurs-compositeurs. Elle a aussi été conviée à chanter sur les ondes de la station de radio WSM de Nashville, station officielle du Grand Ole Opry, lors des célébrations du Gala de la musique country.

Kirsten Jones avait lancé son premier album, Drive-In Movie, en 2005. Il fut entendu dans toutes les provinces et a atteint la 3
e position au palmarès Folk/Roots sur Galaxie. Elle a fait des tournées aux États-Unis et au pays, et s’est produite avec artistes comme Jim Cuddy, Lynn Miles, Oh Susanna, Corb Lund, Hayes Carll, Minnie Driver, Rose Cousins, entre autres.


Site Internet
www.myspace.com/kirstenjonesmusic

Discographie
The Mad Mile (2010)
Drive-In Movie (2005)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2006