Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


K'naan


Hip-hop singer-songwriter

Song – "Fatima" - Now playing...

Bio
Born in Somalia, K'naan spent his childhood in Mogadishu during the Somali Civil War, which began in 1991. His name, Keinan, means "traveler" in the Somali language. His father left when K'naan was an infant, and at the age of 13, K'naan, his mother, and three siblings joined relatives briefly in New York, then moved to Toronto. K'naan learned English partly by listening to hip-hop albums, and taught himself to rap by copying the lyrics phonetically. Since then, music critic Jim Welte has said K'naan has "a sound that fuses Bob Marley, conscious American hip-hop, and brilliant protest poetry." Also since then, K'naan has collaborated with artists like Nelly Furtado, the British pop band Keane, Adam Levine of Maroon 5, Mos Def, The Roots, Damian Marley and Will.i.am of Black Eyed Peas.

K'naan's debut album The Dusty Foot Philosopher was released in 2005 to critical acclaim. In 2006, it won the Juno Award for Rap Recording of the Year, and was nominated for the 2006 Polaris Music Prize. The album was re-released in 2008 as a "deluxe edition" featuring new mixes and a bonus DVD in the U.S.

His second album, Troubadour, was released in 2009, earning K'naan a spot on the short list for the 2009 Polaris Music Prize, and winning him two Juno Awards in 2010, for both Artist and Songwriter of the Year. It spawned such CBC Radio 2 staples as "Fire in Freetown," "Fatima" "Take a Minute" and "Wavin' Flag," the last of which charted within the Top Five in the U.K., Netherlands, Norway, Italy, Ireland, France, Canada, Scotland and Spain.

Since re-produced in various versions, "Wavin' Flag" has catapulted K'naan to huge worldwide acclaim. First, at the behest of renowned Canadian producer Bob Ezrin, K'naan re-wrote, re-recorded and re-released the inspirational anthem online as a benefit single for Haiti, featuring the vocal performances of a huge cross-section of more than 50 Canadian music stars, including Justin Bieber, Blue Rodeo's Jim Cuddy, Drake, Kardinal Offishall, Avril Lavigne, Sam Roberts, Serena Ryder, Hawksley Workman and Nikki Yanofsky. Then, a re-written version the song was chosen as Coca-Cola's anthem for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, held in South Africa. Starting In December 2009, K'naan performed the song live during the sponsor's FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour, which took him to 86 countries around the world.


Performances/news this month
Sept. 21 - Burnaby, BC, Simon Fraser University,
"1 Vision One World" Peace Day Concert
Sept. 23 - Victoria, BC, Rifflandia Music Festival
Sept. 25 - Vancouver, Stanley Park
Sept. 27 - Calgary, MacEwan Hall
Sept. 27 - Edmonton, Edmonton Event Centre
Sept. 29 - Winnipeg, Burton Cummings Theatre
Oct. 1 - Toronto, Kool Haus
Oct. 3 - Guelph, University of Guelph
Oct. 4 - Kitchener, Elements Nite Club
Oct. 5 - Sault Ste. Marie, Kiwanis Community Theatre Centre
Oct. 6 - Parry Sound, Stockey Centre
Oct. 8 - Philadelphia, Theatre of the Living Arts
Oct. 9 - New York, Webster Hall
Oct. 10 - Washington, DC, 9:30 Club
Oct. 12 - Towson, Maryland, Recher Theatre
Oct. 13 - Boston, House of Blues

Website
http://knaanmusic.ning.com/
www.myspace.com/knaanmusic

Discography
"Wavin' Flag" (w. Young Artists for Haiti, 2010)
Troubadour (2009)
The Dusty Foot Philosopher (2005)
My Life Is a Movie (2004)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


K'naan


Auteur-compositeur interprète hip-hop

La chanson - « Fatima » est en ondes...

Bio
Né en Somalie, K'naan a passé son enfance à Mogadishu Durant la guerre civile, qui débute en 1991. Son nom, Keinan, signifie « voyageur » en somalien. Son père quitte sa famille lorsqu’il est enfant, et lorsqu’il atteint l’âge de 13 ans, K'naan, sa mère et sa famille rejoignent de la parenté à New York, avant de s’installer à Toronto. K'naan apprend l’anglais en partie en écoutant des albums hip-hop, et il pratique le rap en les imitant phonétiquement. Jim Welte, un critique musical, dit maintenant de lui qu’Il « a un son qui fait la fusion entre Bob Marley, le hip-hop américain et la poésie revendicatrice ». K'naan a collaboré avec des artistes comme Nelly Furtado, le groupe pop britannique Keane, Adam Levine de Maroon 5, Mos Def, The Roots, Damian Marley et Will.i.am des Black Eyed Peas.

Son premier album, The Dusty Foot Philosopher, fut lance en 2005 et bien reçu par les critiques. Il reçoit le Juno de l’Album rap de l’année en 2006 et est mis en nomination aux prix Polaris la même année. L’album a bénéficié aux États-Unis d’un nouveau lancement, édition de luxe, en 2008, avec des remixages et un DVD bonus.

Le second album, Troubadour, lance en 2009, lui vaut encore une fois une nomination aux prix Polaris 2009 en plus de deux Juno 2010, celui d’Artiste et d’Auteur-compositeur de l’année. Plusieurs extraits ont fait les beaux jours de la 2e chaîne de la radio CBC, comme « Fire in Freetown », « Fatima », « Take a Minute » et « Wavin' Flag ». Le dernier a même atteint une des cinq premières positions dans les palmarès du Royaume-Uni, des Pays-Bas, en Norvège, Irlande, France, Canada, Écosse et Espagne.


Depuis qu’elle a été reprise en plusieurs versions, « Wavin' Flag » a fait connaître K'naan dans le monde entier. Il a, à l’instigation du producteur canadien Bob Ezrin, réécrit, réenregistré et relancé la chanson au profit des sinistrés du tremblement de terre de Haïti. Ont participé à cette opération plus de 50 vedettes canadiennes, incluant Justin Bieber, Jim Cuddy de Blue Rodeo, Drake, Kardinal Offishall, Avril Lavigne, Sam Roberts, Serena Ryder, Hawksley Workman et Nikki Yanofsky. Une autre version fut choisie comme thème des publicités de Coca-Cola pour la Coupe mondiale de foot de la FIFA en Afrique du Sud. En décembre 2009, K'naan l’interprétait durant la tournée Coca-Cola de la Coupe mondiale de foot de la FIFA, qui l’a mené dans 86 pays.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
21 septembre- Burnaby, C.-B., Université Simon Fraser,
                             « 1 Vision One World » Peace Day Concert
23 septembre - Victoria, C.-B., Rifflandia Music Festival
25 septembre - Vancouver, Stanley Park
27 septembre - Calgary, MacEwan Hall
27 septembre - Edmonton, Edmonton Event Centre
29 septembre - Winnipeg, Théâtre Burton Cummings
1er octobre - Toronto, Kool Haus
3 octobre - Guelph, Université de Guelph
4 octobre - Kitchener, Elements Nite Club
5 octobre - Sault Ste. Marie, Kiwanis Community Theatre Centre
6 octobre - Parry Sound, Stockey Centre
8 octobre - Philadelphie, Theatre of the Living Arts
9 octobre - New York, Webster Hall
10 octobre - Washington, DC, 9:30 Club
12 octobre - Towson, Maryland, Recher Theatre
13 octobre - Boston, House of Blues

Site Internet
http://knaanmusic.ning.com/
www.myspace.com/knaanmusic

Discographie
"Wavin' Flag" (avec les Young Artists for Haiti, 2010)
Troubadour (2009)
The Dusty Foot Philosopher (2005)
My Life Is a Movie (2004)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2004