Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Laurel MacDonald


Singer, songwriter, film/television/dance composer

Composition – "Qui" - Now playing...
(Excerpt, Public Domain, Arranged by Laurel MacDonald and John Oswald)
(Original composition, Qui habitat in adjutorio altissimi, by Josquin des Prez, c. 1440-1521)

Bio
Recognized across Canada and internationally as a dynamic singer/composer and performer, Laurel MacDonald began her professional career in 1990, composing soundtracks for independent film. Soon after she combined talents with music producer, sound designer and composer Philip Strong – marking the beginning of a longtime creative partnership under the name Improbable Music.

MacDonald’s music and voice have appeared in many television productions including the dramatic series Heartland, Regenesis, Point Pleasant, PSI Factor, Taking the Falls, and The Salem Witch Trials. Feature film credits include Splice, Shake Hands with the Devil, Black Dahlia, Tripping the Wire and The Hanging Garden, and dance and theatre credits include the Stratford Festival of Canada, Toronto Dance Theatre, Alberta Ballet, Ballet British Columbia, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, The Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company of New York, and the ballet of the Opéra National de Paris. In 2003, MacDonald and partner Philip Strong received a Gemini Award for their score for the dance film The Year Of The Lion, produced by the BRAVO! Television Network and CBC Television.

MacDonald also embarked on a career as a solo singer and performer in 1994, and has since released five recordings to widespread critical acclaim. MacDonald released her first solo album Kiss Closed My Eyes in 1994. In 1997 she was signed to Wicklow Records, a world music label created by Canadian music management notables Sam Feldman and Steve Macklam. Her album Chroma was released worldwide by Wicklow/BMG Classics in 1999. Wicklow also released Wingspan in 1999, an EP featuring remixes of MacDonald’s music by such luminaries as Transglobal Underground, John Oswald and Bill Laswell. MacDonald was profiled in a BRAVO! Television Network production Kiss Closed My Eyes.

In 2008 MacDonald introduced her solo performance project Videovoce, integrating her voice with electronics and video. With Strong at the sound design helm, she has taken this project to the Summerworks and Art School (Dismissed) festivals in Toronto, and to MUTEK 2010 in Montreal. By 2006 MacDonald had exhibited her first video installation, and her video work has since been programmed at Toronto Alternative Fashion Week, the Luminato festival in Toronto, and the Festival International du Film sur l’Art in Montreal. Recent performances include the Hamilton Media Arts Centre and the SOUNDplay Festival in Toronto, and the première of her video installation XXIX as part of the 2010 Nuit Blanche festival at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto.


Website
www.improbablemusic.com

Discography
Luscinia's Lullaby (2005)
Stars & Elements (EP, 2000)
Chroma (1999)
Wingspan (Remix EP, 1999)
Kiss Closed My Eyes (1995)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 1992

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Laurel MacDonald


Auteure-compositrice-interprète, compositrice pour le cinéma, la télévision et la danse

Composition – « Qui » est en ondes...
(Extrait, domaine public, arrangé par Laurel MacDonald et John Oswald)
(Composition originale, Qui habitat in adjutorio altissimi, par Josquin des Prez, c. 1440-1521)

Bio
Reconnue d’un bout à l’autre du Canada et sur la scène internationale comme une chanteuse et compositrice dynamique, Laurel MacDonald a commencé sa carrière professionnelle en 1990 en composant des trames sonores de films indépendants. Peu après, elle a associé ses talents à ceux du producteur musical, concepteur sonore et compositeur Philip Strong, ce qui marque le début d’une longue collaboration créatrice du nom d’Improbable Music.

La musique et la voix de Laurel MacDonald font partie de nombreuses productions télévisées dont les séries dramatiques Heartland, Regenesis, Point Pleasant, PSI Factor, Taking the Falls et The Salem Witch Trials. Elle a composé pour les longs métrages Splice, Shake Hands with the Devil, Le dahlia noir, Tripping the Wire et Le jardin suspendu, et créé de la musique pour la danse et le théâtre notamment pour le Festival Stratford du Canada, le Toronto Dance Theatre, l’Alberta Ballet, le Ballet British Columbia, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, le Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company of New York et le ballet de l’Opéra National de Paris. En 2003, Laurel MacDonald et son collaborateur Philip Strong ont reçu un prix Gemini pour avoir composé la trame sonore du film sur la danse The Year Of The Lion, produit par les réseaux de télévision BRAVO! et CBC.

Laurel MacDonald a également entamé une carrière d’interprète en solo depuis 1994, ayant publié cinq disques chaleureusement accueillis par la critique. Son premier album en solo, Kiss Closed My Eyes, est paru en 1994. En 1997 elle signait chez Wicklow Records, une étiquette de musique du monde fondée par les gérants canadiens Sam Feldman et Steve Macklam. Son album Chroma a été lancé sur la scène mondiale par Wicklow/BMG Classics en 1999. Wicklow a également fait paraître Wingspan en 1999, un remixage EP de la musique de Laurel MacDonald réalisé par des sommités comme Transglobal Underground, John Oswald et Bill Laswell. Le réseau de télévision BRAVO! a également présenté le parcours de Laurel MacDonald dans la production Kiss Closed My Eyes.

En 2008, elle lance son projet d’interprétation en solo Videovoce, qui intègre sa voix à de la musique électronique et à une création vidéo. Avec Philip Strong à la conception sonore, elle a présenté ce projet à l’occasion des festivals des œuvres d’été et des arts dramatiques de Toronto, et à MUTEK 2010 à Montréal. En 2006, elle a présenté sa première installation vidéo et depuis lors, son œuvre vidéo a été programmée à la Semaine de la mode alternative de Toronto, au festival Luminato de Toronto et au Festival International du Film sur l’Art de Montréal. Ses prestations récentes ont eu lieu au Centre des arts de Hamilton et au Festival SOUNDplay deToronto, alors que sa nouvelle installation vidéo XXIX a fait partie du festival Nuit Blanche 2010 du Royal Ontario Museum de Toronto.


Site Internet
www.improbablemusic.com

Discographie
Luscinia's Lullaby (2005)
Stars & Elements (EP, 2000)
Chroma (1999)
Wingspan (Remix EP, 1999)
Kiss Closed My Eyes (1994)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1992