Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Lynn Miles


Singer-songwriter


Song – "Three Chords and the Truth"
- Now playing...

Bio
Lynn Miles is one of Canada's most accomplished singer/songwriters. With seven albums to her credit, she's the winner of multiple Canadian Folk Music Awards, and a 2003 Juno Award for Roots & Traditional Solo Album of the Year. She's found her strength over time. Through a career that has seen her move from Ottawa to Los Angeles and back again, with stops in songwriting centres like Nashville and Austin, she's always written music with unbridled feeling and vulnerability. Miles has consistently been unflinching in "putting herself out there." The voice of her experience brings her songwriting a rich depth of emotion.

While her melodies undulate between traditional country and folk roots, her sensitivity to the world around her pours itself directly into Miles' music. "Love Doesn't Hurt,” for example, was written as an emotional plea for people in abusive relationships. “I wrote this song after watching Oprah do a show about domestic violence,'" she says. "She kept repeating 'Love doesn't hurt,' and even though I've written plenty of songs about how emotionally painful love can be, I wanted to put this crucial idea right up there beside my other songs, for balance, and clarity. I've been playing the song live and have been approached by several people who work at women's shelters who tell me it's a powerful song, and that they want to play it for their clients. There's no better compliment than that.”

Miles' astute observations of life, its trials and triumphs, are the hallmark of sincerity in her music. Its gritty honesty never falters – neither does her unshakeable ability to make even the most melancholy lyrics sound as if they're brimming with hope and grace. “Little Bird,” for instance, infuses her lyrics with an assertive and encouraging voice. “I wrote this song after reading In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts by Gabor Mate," she says. "It's the best book on addiction and articulates the need for compassion when dealing with addictions. The song is about the initial source of pain that can cause a person to seek solace in alcohol and drugs.”


Lynn Miles is an unmistakable talent, with an eye for both the subtle and sweet that can only be unearthed with experience.

Performances/news this month
March 23 - Uxbridge, ON, Music Hall
March 24 - Williamsville, NY, Village Meeting House
April 13 - Vancouver, BC, Rogue Folk Club

Website
www.lynnmilesmusic.com

Discography
Fall for Beauty (2010)
Black Flowers, Vol. 1 & 2 (2009)
Love Sweet Love (2005)
Unravel (2003)
Night in a Strange Town (1999)
Slightly Haunted (1996)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1995

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Lynn Miles


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson – «Three Chords and the Truth » est en ondes...


Bio

Lynn Miles est l’une des auteures-compositrices-interprètes les plus accomplies au pays. Avec sept albums à ce jour, elle a remporté de multiples prix de musique folk canadienne et un Juno en 2003 pour l’album solo roots et traditionnel de l’année. Elle a évolué au cours des ans et d’une carrière qui l’a menée d’Ottawa à Los Angeles, avec des arrêts à Nashville et Austin. Sa musique a toujours reflété ses sentiments et sa vulnérabilité, elle n’hésite pas à se mettre en péril. Son expérience donne de la profondeur à son écriture.

Avec une musique qui flirte avec le country et le folk roots, elle exprime sa sensibilité au monde qui l’entoure. « Love Doesn't Hurt », par exemple, parle des personnes vivant des relations abusives. « J’ai écrit cette chanson après avoir vu une émission d’Oprah sur la violence conjugale, dit-elle. Elle ne cessait de répéter : "Love doesn't hurt”, et même si j’avais écrit plusieurs chansons sur la souffrance de l’amour, j’ai voulu implanter cette idée cruciale auprès des gens, pour équilibrer et clarifier mes autres titres. J’ai chanté cette chanson sur scène et plusieurs personnes qui travaillent dans des refuges m’ont approchée pour me dire combien elle les avait touchés et qu’ils voulaient la faire entendre à leur clientèle. Je ne pouvais recevoir de meilleur compliment. »

Les fines observations de Lynn Miles sur la vie, ses succès et défis, portent le sceau de sa sincérité. Cette honnêteté ne manque jamais à l’appel, non plus que l’espoir et la grâce qui transparaît même dans ses chansons les plus mélancoliques. « Little Bird », par exemple, est encourageante et forte. « J’ai écrit cette chanson après avoir lu In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts de Gabor Mate, raconte-t-elle. C’est le meilleur livre écrit sur la dépendance et il réitère le besoin de traiter les gens qui ont ces problèmes avec compassion. La chanson parle de la source initiale de la souffrance qui peut pousser une personne à trouver refuge dans l’alcool ou les drogues. »

Lynn Miles possède un talent certain, et ses observations douces-amères sont le fruit de sa grande expérience.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
23 mars - Uxbridge, Ont., Music Hall
24 mars - Williamsville, N.-Y., Village Meeting House
13 avril - Vancouver, C.-B., Rogue Folk Club

Site Internet
www.lynnmilesmusic.com

Discographie
Fall for Beauty (2010)
Black Flowers, Vol. 1 & 2 (2009)
Love Sweet Love (2005)
Unravel (2003)
Night in a Strange Town (1999)
Slightly Haunted (1996)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1995