Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Maryse Letarte


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Boom Boom"
- Now playing...

Bio
A graduate from the renowned Dick Grove School of Music in Los Angeles, Maryse Letarte was introduced to the piano by her grandmother at the age of three, and started studying piano in early childhood. The youngest child of two math teachers, she grew up in St-Hyacinthe, east of Montreal. As a teenager, she discovered Sartre, Camus, Nietzsche, the guitar and rock bands, and started writing her own songs.


After studying classical piano privately for ten years, Maryse entered Montreal’s Cégep St-Laurent, where she completed a diploma of collegiate studies in Classical Piano and Big Band Jazz Composition and Arrangement. Having discovered her true creative calling – writing songs – while continuing her classical piano studies at McGill University with Marc Durand, she turned down a scholarship from that institution and flew to Los Angeles to get the professional training she craved as a budding singer-songwriter.

Des pas dans la neige (Footprints in the Snow), her album on the themes of winter and year-end holidays, introduced her to a wide audience as a singer-songwriter-pianist-producer. It was nominated for an ADISQ Award in the Pop Album of the Year category in 2009 and has sold 25,000 copies to date. Two of her previous collections of introspective and autobiographical songs, En dedans (2001) and Le motif (2004), were critical successes, but the album that shows off Letarte’s huge talent to the fullest is her most recent release, Ni le feu, ni le vent (Neither Fire nor Wind).

Performances/news this month
Dec. 16-18 – Montreal, Place des Arts, Cinquième salle
Dec. 22-23 – Montreal, Place des Arts, Cinquième salle

Website
www.maryseletarte.com

Discography
Ni le feu, ni le vent (2010)
Des pas dans la neige (2008)
Le motif (2004)
En dedans (2002)
Rita-Rita (1993)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1992

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Maryse Letarte


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson – « Boom Boom » est en ondes...

Bio

Diplômée de la réputée Dick Grove School of Music de Los Angeles, Maryse Letarte a été initiée au piano par sa grand-mère dès l’âge de trois ans. Fille cadette de deux professeurs de mathématiques, Maryse a grandi à St-Hyacinthe en Montérégie (Québec). Dès la tendre enfance, elle débute l’apprentissage du piano. À l’adolescence, elle découvre Sartre, Camus, Nietzsche… la guitare, le rock, les groupes… et commence à écrire ses propres chansons.

Après dix années d’études privées en piano classique, elle entre au Cégep St-Laurent, pour y décrocher un DEC en piano classique puis un DEC en Composition et Arrangements pour Big Band Jazz. Tout en poursuivant ses études en piano classique à l’Université McGill avec Marc Durand, Maryse réalise l’importance grandissante de son monde parallèle : l’écriture de chansons. Elle refuse la bourse d’études que lui offre McGill, et opte pour le métier d’auteure-compositrice-interprète qui la passionne plus que tout et s’envole pour Los Angeles afin d’y parfaire sa formation.

C’est avec Des pas dans la neige – un album consacré à l’hiver et aux fêtes de fin d’année – que l’auteure-compositrice-pianiste-réalisatrice se fait connaître d’un large public. Avec 25 000 copies vendues à ce jour, il est nommé Album de l’Année-Pop au Gala de l’ADISQ 2009. Ses deux albums précédents, En dedans (2001) et Le motif (2004), tous deux encensés par la critique, proposent des chansons à la fois introspectives et autobiographiques. Son plus récent opus, Ni le feu, ni le vent, est à la mesure de son immense talent.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
16-18 décembre - Montréal , Place-des-arts, 5
e salle
22-23 décembre -Montréal , Place-des-arts, 5
e salle

Site Internet
www.maryseletarte.com

Discographie
Ni le feu, ni le vent (2010)
Des pas dans la neige (2008)
Le motif (2004)
En dedans (2002)
Rita-Rita (1993)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1992