Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Mathieu Thioly


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Dix ans dans la lune" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Originally from Geneva, Switzerland, Mathieu Thioly is a familiar romantic voice on both sides of the Atlantic. A smart, lyrical songwriter, a lush pianist and a warm-voiced singer, his hybrid-sounding music is replete with catchy tunes and jazz-tinted melodies.

An active player on the Swiss music scene from an early age, Thioly followed up his piano studies at the Geneva Conservatory of Music with additional courses in literature, languages and philosophy. After winning the Festival du Sappey composition contast, where he earned praise for his catchy melodies, his rich harmonics and his stylistic versatility, he toured his original repertoire from Geneva to Lausanne through jazz havens such as La Maison Rouge and Le Caveau before taking them to Canadian shores.

In 2001, Thioly fell in love with Quebec culture and society, and decided to move and work there. He registered for a B.A. in Popular Music Interpretation at the University of Quebec at Montreal (UQAM), where he studied, among others, with former Beau Dommage member Robert Léger and jazzman François Bourassa. Having surrounded himself with a group of musicians, Thioly is now an integral part of the Montreal music scene, where he pursues his art and develops new professional partnerships.

In 2005, Thioly enrolled in the Ma Première Place des Arts contest, reaching the quarter-finals in the singer-songwriter category, while his song “Tomber sur toi” was nominated for best song of the year. In 2007, he was one of six finalists in the vocal jazz category of the Propulsion Jazz competition, organized by Couleur Jazz (91.9 FM in Montreal) and Espace Dell’Arte. At that time, he recorded three of his songs under the artistic direction of Rick Allison, and two of them, “Nous sommes” and “Dix ans dans la lune,” got airplay on Couleur Jazz. In 2008, Thioly won the best male singer award of the 100% Music Songwriting Contest with “Dix ans dans la lune.”

Thioly’s first album, Au blanc des jours, addresses the universal themes of intimacy, exile, love, death and the passage of time. Co-arranged by David Lecour and produced by Louis-Philippe Amiot and Jean-François Picher, it features a harmonious blend of soft, romantic and languorous acoustic songs that are the perfect listen for the “white days” of winter menbtioned in the album title.

Website
http://www.thioly.com/
http://www.myspace.com/mathieuthioly

Discography
Au blanc des jours (2009)



SOCAN Connection
Member since 2006

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Mathieu Thioly


Auteur-compositeur-interprète

La chanson - « Dix ans dans la lune » est en ondes...

Bio
Originaire de Genève, Mathieu Thioly promène sa voix dans un jardin d'exil et d'amours transatlantiques. C’est une plume lyrique et intelligente, la richesse d’un piano et la chaleur d’une voix aux accents hybrides qui donnent vie à des mélodies accrocheuses teintées de jazz.

Ayant étudié le piano au Conservatoire de musique de Genève, et plus tard, poursuivi en littérature, langues et philosophie, Mathieu est actif sur la scène suisse depuis son tout jeune âge. Il remporte alors le concours de composition du Festival du Sappey où l’on salue ses mélodies accrocheuses, sa richesse harmonique et sa polyvalence stylistique. Par la suite, il ballade ses chansons de Genève à Lausanne, de la Maison Rouge au Caveau et les entraîne sur d’autres continents… plus loin, toujours plus loin!

C’est en 2001, qu’un réel coup de foudre culturel et social l’amène à vouloir intégrer le paysage québécois pour en faire son terrain de création… son terrain de vie. Il entreprend alors un baccalauréat en Interprétation de musique populaire à l’UQAM, où il étudie, entre autres, avec Robert Léger (ex-Beau Dommage) et le jazzman François Bourassa. Depuis, entouré de ses musiciens, il habite la scène montréalaise et peaufine son art au gré de multiples rencontres artistiques.

En 2005, il participe finalement au concours Ma Première Place des Arts dont il franchit le cap des quarts de finale dans la catégorie auteur-compositeur-interprète et voit sa composition
« Tomber sur toi » en nomination pour le prix Chanson de l’année. En 2007, il est retenu parmi les six finalistes de la catégorie jazz vocal du concours Propulsion Jazz, organisé par Couleur Jazz (91.9 FM à Montréal) et l’Espace Dell’Arte. Il enregistre alors trois chansons sous la direction artistique de Rick Allison et deux d’entre elles, « Nous sommes » et « Dix ans dans la lune », sont diffusées sur les ondes de Couleur Jazz. En 2008, il termine gagnant de la catégorie meilleur chanteur avec « Dix ans dans la lune » au concours 100% Music Songwriting contest .

L’album Au blanc des jours, c’est une première page vierge qu’il noircit de sa prose et sa musique. C’est l’intimité, l’exil, l’amour, la mort et le temps qui s’envole. Co-arrangé par David Lecour et réalisé par Louis-Philippe Amiot et Jean-François Picher, on y retrouve la douceur, le romantisme et la langueur des instruments acoustiques. Un mélange harmonieux lancé en février 2010, pour savourer tout doucement… dans le blanc de l’hiver!

Site Internet
http://www.thioly.com/
http://www.myspace.com/mathieuthioly

Discographie
Au blanc des jours (2009)



Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2006