Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Mike O'Neill


Singer-songwriter, film & TV music composer


Song – "Henry"
- Now playing...

Bio
Though it was released on Feb. 28, 2012, work on Mike O’Neill’s Wild Lines began in December 2007, when the lauded songwriter enlisted Charles Austin for guitar and Mike Clattenburg (creator of The Trailer Park Boys) for drums and began recording bed tracks. It wasn’t long until real life took over; O’Neill landed a job composing music for a cooking show, French Food at Home. While that earned him a Gemini Award, it wasn’t until several years later that he was able to return to Wild Lines.

O’Neill’s music career began with the seminal indie-rock act The Inbreds. The duo rose to prominence in the early ’90s, drawing the attention of legendary Seattle label Sub Pop as well as Atlantic Records‘ imprint Tag Recordings. The Inbreds eventually signed with Tag, toured the world, and gained fans such as Matthew Sweet, Teenage Fanclub, Evan Dando, and Dave Grohl of Foo Fighters. The band made two more records before calling it quits in 1998, and garnered two Juno Award nominations. Their bass-and-drums format helped set the band apart, but O’Neill’s songwriting made The Inbreds relevant to this day.

In 1999, O’Neill switched to guitar and made his first solo record, What Happens Now? He employed an all-star band with Don Kerr (Ron Sexsmith) on drums, Matt Murphy (Superfriendz) on guitar, and Charles Austin (Superfriendz) on bass. Michael Phillip Wojewoda provided world-class production. The record was very well received and was quickly added to commercial alternative radio stations. Consequently, O’Neill won the first annual Canadian Music Week Indie Award (2000) for Best Alternative Album.

In 2004, O’Neill returned with The Owl. The album was recorded and performed entirely by him at his home in Halifax. Released in digital format, The Owl was unanimously acclaimed and cemented his reputation as one of the country’s most respected songwriters. Then things got quiet, except for film and television scoring…


Eight years later, O’Neill has released what Southern Souls calls his “pop masterpiece.” Wild Lines has sounds that range from the explosion of the noon gun on the Halifax Citadel to the intimacy of a phone call between friends. It has hip-hop drums and doo-wop harmonies. Each song is approached differently, but they bear a familial resemblance; they make sense together.

“There’s a feeling you get when you’re recording a take and you know you got it, that you won’t need to do it again because you can’t do it better," says O’Neill. "That happened a lot for me on this album."

Website
http://pigeonrow.com/mike-oneill-wild-lines

Discography
Wild Lines (2012)
The Owl (2004)
What Happens Now? (1999)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1992

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Mike O'Neill


Auteur-compositeur-interprète, compositeur de musique de film et télévision

La chanson – « Henry » est en ondes...

Bio

Bien que lancé le 28 février 2012, le travail de Mike O’Neill pour Wild Lines a débuté en décembre 2007, lorsque l’auteur réputé a embauché Charles Austin comme guitariste et Mike Clattenburg (créateur de The Trailer Park Boys) comme batteur. Il commence alors à enregistrer des pièces. Mais très vite, O’Neill obtient un travail de compositeur pour une émission de cuisine, French Food at Home. Celui-ci lui vaudra un prix Gemini et ce n’est que plusieurs années plus tard qu’il revient à son projet Wild Lines.

La carrière de Mike O’Neill débute avec le groupe indie-rock The Inbreds. Le duo se fait connaître dans les années 90, attire l’attention de l’étiquette Sub Pop, de Seattle, ainsi que de Tag Recordings. The Inbreds choisissent finalement Tag, font des tournées à travers le monde et les Matthew Sweet, Teenage Fanclub, Evan Dando et Dave Grohl deviennent des fans. Le duo lance encore deux albums et obtient deux nominations aux Juno avant de se séparer en 1998. Leur format basse et percussions était leur marque de commerce, mais c’est l’écriture de Mike O’Neill qui fait que leur œuvre est encore pertinente aujourd’hui.

En 1999, O’Neill se fait guitariste et lance son premier album solo, What Happens Now? Il avait pour le projet réuni Don Kerr (Ron Sexsmith) aux percussions, Matt Murphy (Superfriendz) aux guitares et Charles Austin (Superfriendz) à la basse. Michael Phillip Wojewoda était le producteur hors-pair. L’album est bien reçu et rapidement entendu dans les radios alternatives commerciales. Du coup, O’Neill remporte le premier prix Indie de la Semaine de la musique canadienne en 2000, catégorie Meilleur album alternatif.

En 2004, O’Neill lance The Owl. L’album est entièrement enregistré et interprété par lui, à partir de sa résidence de Halifax. Lancé en mode numérique, The Owl est acclamé et renforce sa réputation d’auteur-compositeur-interprète respecté. Il met toutefois cette carrière en sourdine pour faire de la musique audiovisuelle pendant plusieurs années.

Huit ans plus tard, O’Neill lance ce que Southern Souls qualifie de son chef d’œuvre pop. « On retrouve dans Wild Lines des sons qui rappellent le canon du midi à la citadelle de Halifax aussi bien que d’autres d’une grande intimité. On y trouve des percussions hip-hop et des harmonies doo-wop. Chaque chanson est différente, mais elles se ressemblent, elles ont une logique. »

« Il arrive que l’on sache qu’on vient d’enregistrer de façon parfaite, qu’on n’aura pas à refaire, dit O’Neill. Ça m’est arrivé plusieurs fois pour cet album. »

Site Internet
http://pigeonrow.com/mike-oneill-wild-lines

Discographie
Wild Lines (2012)
The Owl (2004)
What Happens Now? (1999)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1992