Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Myëlle

Singer-songwriter, cellist

Song – "Navigateur " - Now playing...

Bio
Born during a storm in Jonquière, Quebec, in 1983, Myëlle learned to walk listening to Félix Leclerc and Mahalia Jackson. At the age of eight, she tackled the cello and the classical music education that comes with it.

Myëlle danced to Elvis, practiced scales, played Dvorjak compositions, sang Edith Piaf songs and performed as a cellist and backup singer on albums by Bertrand Desjardins, Mark Bérubé, Umany, Pêro, The Patriotic Few and David Martel. Having made her first visit to the Montreal FrancoFolies festival as an accompanist for the singer-songwriter Amylie, she criss-crossed Quebec with a variety of musical projects, including an appearance at the Granby International Song Festival in 2008. In the summer of 2010, she took part in the Festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée as a solo artist, where she received the SOCAN Best Song Award for “J’ai trop parlé,” as well as the Hydro-Québec Audience Award.


Myëlle also won a songwriting residency at the ChantEauFête de Charlevoix; Louisiana’s Canon songwriting award for “Les dégâts”; the Francouvertes’ Best Song award; a spot in the Tournée du grand 8; and a Quebec Arts and Letters Council research and creation grant in the Professional Artist category. Now in pre-production, her first album is being co-produced by Benoit Bouchard. It promises to include well-crafted lyrics, intricate string arrangements and vocal harmonies, and the distinctive, tropical-sounding “vintage sound” Myëlle has derived from such diverse influences as the Beatles, Air and Morcheeba.


Performances/news this month
March 15 - Issoudun, France, La Boite à Musique Issoudun
April 13 - Montreal, La Tulipe

Website
www.myspace.com/myspacemyelle

Discography
Album en préparation

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2007

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Myëlle


Auteure-compositrice-interprète, violoncelliste

La chanson – « Navigateur » est en ondes...

Bio
Née en 1983 à Jonquière au beau milieu d'une tempête, Myëlle apprend à marcher en écoutant Félix Leclerc et Mahalia Jackson. À huit ans, elle s’initie au violoncelle et à la rigueur classique qui s'y rattache.

Elle danse avec Elvis, étudie les gammes et interprète Dvorjak et Piaf. Myelle participe à titre de violoncelliste et choriste aux albums de Bertrand Desjardins, Mark Bérubé, Umany, Pêro, The Patriotic Few et David Martel. Elle fait une première apparition aux FrancoFolies de Montréal en 2009, accompagnant l’auteure-compositrice-interprète Amylie. Depuis, elle parcourt les routes du Québec avec différents projets musicaux, passant par le Festival International de la chanson de Granby en 2008 pour ensuite briller au festival en chanson de Petite-Vallée à l'été 2010, où elle obtient la bourse de la chanson primée SOCAN pour « J’ai trop parlé » ainsi que la bourse du prix du public Hydro-Québec.

Myëlle obtient de plus une résidence d'écriture à la Chanteaufête de Charlevoix, la bourse de la chanson Canon de la Louisiane pour « Les dégâts », le prix Coup de cœur Francouvertes, la Tournée du grand 8. Elle est aussi boursière du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec pour la recherche et la création dans le volet artiste professionnel. En pré-production de son premier album, Myëlle accorde beaucoup d'importance aux arrangements de cordes et aux harmonies vocales. Elle privilégie un son vintage aux influences Beatles, Air et Morcheeba, qu’elle crée avec l’aide de son co-réalisateur Benoit Bouchard. Sa voix chaude, bien assise sur un groove très féminin et des textes fignolés avec soin donnent une pop tropicale parfaite pour un road trip!


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
15 mars - Issoudun, France, La Boite à Musique Issoudun
13 avril - Montréal, La Tulipe

Site Internet
www.myspace.com/myspacemyelle

Discographie

Album en préparation

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2007