Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Orange Orange


Singer-songwriter


Song – "Je ne pense qu'à toi"
- Now playing...

Bio
Orange Orange is a Montreal electro-rock group comprised of the dynamic duo of Sabrina Sabotage on drums and vintage Casios, and Dom Hamel on vocal beat box, live looping and titanic guitar.

The duo’s current concerts feature works from their second album (released in October 2011), Tropical Passion, a high-octane collection of songs with deep lyrics, set to a pop beat, mixed with romantic rock outbursts, on a funky, fruity electro groove. The perfect blending of the duo’s voices in high-flying harmonics, and their sexually charged stage performances, produce a rapid-fire kitsch atmosphere that can become addictive.

The first single from their album, “Wannabe DJ,” is currently being played on all Quebec CKOI and NRJ stations, a proud achievement for the pair, which has vowed to make “leftist” art songs popular on Quebec commercial radio. The European release of Tropical Passion is scheduled for the summer of 2012.

Orange Orange’s musical saga began in late 2008 when Dom Hamel and Sabrina Sabotage, a real-life couple, combined their talents for the first time while Hamel was still a member of the rap group Gatineau. She worked with him on the band’s self-titled album, which went on to win the 2009 ADISQ award for best hip-hop album.

However, it was under the name of Orange Orange that their love story morphed into a shared creative passion, whose inherent madness produced the 2009 album Orange Orange, a musical affair that got people talking and won the ADISQ award for best album cover and a 2010 nomination in the best alternative album category.

Since then, Orange Orange has toured Canada from coast to coast, with a 2010 European incursion for the La Rochelle (France) and Spa (Belgium) FrancoFolies festivals and a handful of Parisian dates. The duo also performed at the Montreal FrancoFolies four years in a row, and took part in the mammoth Quebec National Holiday concert on the Plains of Abraham in Quebec City alongside such iconic homegrown artists as Plume Latraverse and Mes Aïeux.

Not to mention their song “Je suis le héros,” which can be heard daily as part of a well-known television ad and confirms the extent of the Orange Orange revolution.

Website
www.myspace.com/orangeorangeduo

Discography
Tropical Passion (2011)
Orange Orange (2009)

SOCAN Connection
Members since 2002 (Hamel), 2009 (Sabotage)

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Orange Orange


Auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes Dom Hamel et Sabrina Sabotage

La chanson – « Je ne pense qu'à toi » est en ondes...

Bio

Orange Orange est un duo dynamique d'artistes agrumes aux couleurs cuivrées et aux sonorités électro-rock de Montréal, comprenant Sabrina Sabotage à la batterie et aux casios vintage et Dom Hamel au beat box buccal, au looping live et à la guitare titanesque.

En spectacle, ils offrent actuellement les chansons de leur 2
e album, Tropical Passion, lancé en octobre dernier, avec ses textes profonds et thermodynamiques, aux pulsations pop et des envolées rock romantiques mêlés d'une électro électrique funky et fruité. Les voix des deux chanteurs se mêlent dans des harmonies musicales de haute voltige. Le sex-appeal scénique de ces deux vitamines vivifiantes aux distorsions délirantes et au kitsch kalachnikov fait du groupe un bonbon de zeste givré.

Le premier extrait de l’album, « Wannabe DJ » de l'album est en rotation sur les ondes des stations CKOI et NRJ de tout le Québec et le duo est fier de cet accomplissement. Les complices se sont donné comme défi d'amener la chanson artistique dite « gauchiste » à la radio commerciale québécoise. Tropical Passion sera lancé en Europe d'ici l'été 2012.

L'aventure d’Orange Orange débute à la fin 2008, lorsque Dom Hamel et Sabrina Sabotage, un couple dans la vie, unissent leurs talents pour la première fois. Sabrina avait alors joint sa voix suave à celle de Dom, à ce moment membre de la formation rap Gatineau. Elle travaille avec lui sur l'album homonyme du band rap, qui gagne le Félix de l'album hip hop 2009.

Mais c’est unis sous le nom d’Orange Orange pour la première fois qu'il y a vrai coup de foudre artistique. La folie de leur union créatrice les mène vers la création de leur premier opus en 2009, Orange Orange. Leur histoire d'amour mise en musique fait jaser bien des curieux; et l'album remporte le Félix de la pochette d'album de l'année ainsi qu'une nomination pour meilleur album alternatif de l'année au Gala de l'ADISQ 2010.

Depuis, Orange Orange a sillonné le Canada d'Est en Ouest, sans oublier la tournée européenne de 2010 avec les Francofolies de La Rochelle en France, Les Francofolies de Spa en Belgique et quelques spectacles à Paris. Le duo participe aussi aux FrancoFolies de Montréal quatre années consécutives, et se retrouve aux côtés des grands Plume Latraverse et Mes Aïeux à La Fête Nationale sur les Plaines d'Abraham à Québec.

Et c’est sans compter que leur chanson « Je suis le héros » devient la trame sonore d'une publicité télé québécoise bien connue. Pas de doute : leur musique se démarque par son originalité et sa saveur!


Site Internet
www.myspace.com/orangeorangeduo

Discography
Tropical Passion (2011)
Orange Orange (2009)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membres depuis 2002 (Dom Hamel), 2009 (Sabrina Sabotage)