Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Qiu Xia He


World music composer, pipa player

Song – "Way In" - Now playing...

Bio
Qiu Xia He (pronounced “chu sha her”) is a virtuoso pipa (traditional Chinese lute) performer, recording artist, composer and producer. Based in Vancouver, she collaborates with other musicians and works on the cutting edge of cross-cultural world-music fusion. While creating new sounds and rhythms, she consistently applies her musical talents, warmth and charming presence.

Qiu Xia He tours internationally with the groups Silk Road and Jou Tou (both of which include her husband, multi-instrumentalist André Thibault). She's toured with renowned world-music groups such as ASZA, Southern Cross with Sal Ferreras, and in a duo with Celso Machado. Qiu Xia He was classically trained in China on the pipa. She constantly pushes her skills to new vistas, shaping traditional Eastern styles with Western influences and techniques from jazz, folk and Celtic music.

“I believe strongly in this new art," says Qiu Xia He. "I want to bring the Chinese pipa into the new world where I now live, to introduce the richness of Chinese music to a new audience. I want to build a deeper understanding between East and West, and to develop a unique new language on this traditional instrument.”

In the fall of 2010, Qiu Xia He and André Thibault are going to Spain to study flamenco, which will no doubt provide another fascinating turn their ever-evolving musical development.


Website
http://silkroadmusic.ca 

Discography
with Silk Road
Autumn Cloud: A Journey with her Pipa (2006)
Endless (1999)
Village Tales (1998)
with Jou Tou
Jou Tou (2002)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1996

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Qiu Xia He


Compositrice de musique du monde, joueuse de pipa

La chanson - « Way In » est en ondes...

Bio
Jory Nash est un auteur-compositeur-interprète indépendant de Toronto. Sa musique allie le Qiu Xia He (que l’on prononce chu sha heur) est une virtuose du pipa (le luth traditionnel chinois), compositrice, productrice et artiste sur disque. Elle vit à Vancouver, et collabore avec d’autres musiciens, travaillant dans le domaine de la fusion de la musique du monde. Avec ses sons et rythmes nouveaux, elle a une présence charmante, chaleureuse et musicale.

Qiu Xia He fait des tournées internationales avec les groupes Silk Road et Jou Tou (les deux incluant son mari, le multi-instrumentaliste André Thibault). Elle a fait des tournées avec des groupes aussi connus que ASZA, Southern Cross avec Sal Ferreras, et en duo avec Celso Machado. Qiu Xia He a obtenu sa formation classique en Chine. Elle pousse constamment son talent et crée des styles asiatiques aux influences occidentales, empruntant des techniques du jazz, du folk et de la musique celtique.

« Je crois beaucoup en mon art, dit Qiu Xia He. Je veux faire connaître le pipa dans mon nouveau pays, faire savourer la richesse de la musique chinoise à de nouveaux auditoires. Je veux bâtir plus de compréhension entre l’Est et l’Ouest et développer un langage unique sur un instrument traditionnel. »

À l’automne 2010, Qiu Xia He et André Thibault se rendront en Espagne pour y étudier le flamenco, qui devrait enrichir encore plus leur vocabulaire musical.


Site Internet
http://silkroadmusic.ca 

Discographie
avec Silk Road
Autumn Cloud: A Journey with her Pipa (2006)
Endless (1999)
Village Tales (1998)
avec Jou Tou
Jou Tou (2002)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1996