Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Ridley Bent


Country singer-songwriter

Song – "Good Lookin' Country" - Now playing...

Bio
Ridley Bent is a country singer-songwriter who was born in Halifax, raised throughout Canada in a military family, and who launched his musical career in the year 2000.

His debut album, Blam, was released in 2005, and was marked by a style that incorporated country, rock and hip-hop influences. The album was produced by Chin Injeti, formerly of the R&B band Bass is Base. Described by Bent as "hick-hop," Blam was best known for the single "Suicidewinder."

His subsequent albums, 2007's Buckles and Boots and 2010's Rabbit on my Wheel, pursued a more conventional country sound, but read like a collection of short stories showcasing his keen fascination for characters whose life on the straight-and-narrow rarely lasts past the nearest exit to a short, crooked road. The tales are tall, the characters large as life, torn between self-destruction and staying out of the ditch. Rabbit on my Wheel is a 12-song set full of fast cars, fine ladies and fist fights that finds Bent burning through a landscape of big country skies, with one hand on the steering wheel and one eye on the bottle.

In early 2009, Bent's song "Nine Inch Nails" won in the eighth annual Independent Music Awards and Vox Pop vote for Best Country Song. Bent was nominated for a Canadian Country Music Award (CCMA) in 2009, and has won no less than seven British Columbia Country Music Awards (BCCMAs) to date. He has opened shows on tours with Corb Lund and Emerson Drive, among others, and has a side project, The Bottle and The Truth, with Dustin Bentall and Cameron Latimer.


Website
www.ridleybent.ca
www.myspace.com/ridleybent

Discography
Rabbit on my Wheel (2010)
Buckles and Boots (2007)
Blam (2005)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Ridley Bent


Auteur-compositeur-interprète country

La chanson – « Good Lookin' Country » est en ondes...

Bio
Ridley Bent est un auteur-compositeur-interprète country né à Halifax et élevé à travers le Canada dans une famille de militaire. Il a débuté sa carrière musicale en 2000.

Son premier album, Blam, est lancé en 2005, et son style incorpore le country, le rock et le hip-hop. L’album est produit par Chin Injeti, autrefois du groupe R&B Bass is Base. Décrit par Bent comme « hick-hop », Blam est surtout connu pour son extrait « Suicidewinder ».

Ses albums subséquents, Buckles and Boots en 2007 et Rabbit on my Wheel en 2010, ont un son country plus conventionnel. Il s’agit d’une série de petites histoires qui témoignent de sa fascination pour les personnages qui dérivent de leur conformisme pour vivre dans la marge. Les histoires sont des vignettes sur l’autodestruction et la résilience. Rabbit on my Wheel comprend 12 titres sur les voitures rapides, les amours et les batailles d’un homme qui conduit d’une main et tend l’autre vers une bouteille, le tout dans un paysage de campagne.

Début 2009, la chanson « Nine Inch Nails » de Ridley Bent remporte le prix de la meilleure chanson country, par vote du public, lors de la 8e édition des Independent Music Awards. Brent a été mis en nomination pour un Canadian Country Music Award (CCMA) en 2009, et a remporté sept British Columbia Country Music Awards (BCCMAs) à ce jour. Il a fait la première partie des tournées de Corb Lund et Emerson Drive, entre autres, et a un autre projet, The Bottle and The Truth, avec Dustin Bentall et Cameron Latimer.


Site Internet
www.ridleybent.ca
www.myspace.com/ridleybent


Discographie

Rabbit on my Wheel (2010)
Buckles and Boots (2007)
Blam (2005)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2004