Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Rose Cousins


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Go First"
- Now playing...

Bio
Born and raised on Prince Edward Island, songwriter and singer Rose Cousins now lives in Halifax, is a vital part of the thriving East Coast music scene, has been welcomed by an equally vibrant Boston community, and tours extensively in Canada, the United States and Europe. With a knack for stirring the heart and an infectiously irreverent sense of humor, she regularly brings listeners to both laughter and tears.

Full of thoughtful observations on her journey, her songs tell subtle stories open enough to belong to anyone. She captivates audiences with her expressive arrangements, warm guitar and heartfelt vocals. Her sincere writing and unaffected voice have earned her great respect and recognition locally, nationally, and internationally. Known for her collaborative spirit and inclination, Cousins has lent her voice to recordings by fellow artists such as Joel Plaskett, Matt Mays, Jill Barber, Meaghan Smtih, In-Flight Safety, and The Heavy Blinkers.

In 2011, Cousins won two East Coast Music Awards (ECMAs), for Female Solo Recording and SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year. The year before, she won the Canadian Folk Music Award for Contemporary Singer of the Year. In 2008, she won an ECMA for Female Solo Recording of the Year, while in 2007, she won the Mountain Stage NewSong Contest, Music Nova Scotia's Folk Recording of the Year and Galaxie Rising Star Award, and PEI Music Awards for Folk Recording and Female Vocalist of the Year.

Cousins' third full-length album, We Have Made a Spark – to be released February 28, 2012 – braves weighty topics. Rooted in authenticity and conviction of voice, from the driving opening track "The Darkness" to the heartbreaking, lushly orchestrated piano ballad "Go First," We Have Made a Spark finds Cousins confronting fear in order to move forward. Genuine and passionate, she reaches out to listeners in the same situation, charging them to conquer their own forms of darkness in order to forge ahead.

Website
www.rosecousins.com

Discography
We Have Made a Spark (release date Feb. 28, 2012)
The Send Off (2009)
If You Were For Me (2006)
Miles To Go (EP, 2003)
Only So Long (EP, 2002)

SOCAN Connection
SOCAN Songwriter of the Year at 2011 ECMAs
Member News Profile, Words + Music, 2007
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Rose Cousins


Auteure-compositrice

La chanson – « Go First » est en ondes...

Bio

Originaire de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, l’auteure-compositrice-interprète Rose Cousins habite aujourd’hui Halifax. Bien installée sur la scène musicale en plein essor de la Côte Est et chaleureusement accueillie dans la communauté musicale tout aussi vivante de Boston, elle se produit régulièrement en tournée au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Douée d’une forte capacité d’émouvoir et d’un humour aussi infectieux qu’irrévérencieux, elle suscite chez son public une multiplicité d’émotions entre le rire et les larmes.

Les chansons de Rose Cousins, souvent inspirées de son quotidien, racontent des histoires toutes simples dans lesquelles chacun et chacune peuvent se reconnaître. Séduisant son public par l’expressivité de ses arrangements, la chaleur de sa guitare et la sincérité de son interprétation, elle s’est fait connaître et respecter localement, nationalement et internationalement. Friande de collaborations, elle a prêté sa voix pour des albums de Joel Plaskett, Matt Mays, Jill Barber, Meaghan Smtih, In-Flight Safety et The Heavy Blinkers.

En 2011, Rose Cousins a remporté le prix de l’Album féminin de l’année et le Prix de l’auteur-compositeur SOCAN lors du Gala de l’Association de la musique de la Côte Est (ECMA). En 2008, elle avait reçu le prix de l’enregistrement de l’année – artiste solo féminine au même gala et, en 2007, elle avait remporté les honneurs du Mountain Stage NewSong Contest, le prix de l’enregistrement folk de l’année de Music Nova Scotia et le Galaxie Rising Star Award en plus des prix du meilleur enregistrement folk et de la chanteuse de l’année aux PEI Music Awards.

Le troisième album régulier de Rose Cousins, We Have Made a Spark – dont le lancement est prévu le 28 février 2012 – aborde bravement des sujets sombres qu’elle traite avec authenticité et conviction dans des chansons comme l’entraînante « The Darkness », qui ouvre l’album, et la déchirante « Go First », ballade pour piano richement orchestrée. Authentique et passionnée, la chanteuse tend la main à ceux qui ont déjà traversé de semblables périodes de noirceur et les encourage à conquérir la peur et à continuer de vivre.


Site Internet
www.rosecousins.com

Discography
We Have Made a Spark (lancement prévu le 28 février 2012)
The Send Off (2009)
If You Were For Me (2006)
Miles To Go (EP, 2003)
Only So Long (EP, 2002)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Prix de l’auteur-compositeur SOCAN lors du Gala 2011 de l’AMCE
Profil de membre, Words + Music, 2007

Membre depuis 2004