Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Rozalind MacPhail


Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, film composer

Song – "Where There is Love" - Now playing...

Bio
Rozalind MacPhail, a.k.a. Mystery Flute Girl, has become one of Canada’s most unique and captivating multi-instrumentalist singer-songwriters. She effortlessly loops guitar, flute, voice and toy instruments into her own blend of songs and soundscapes about the people and places she has connected with.


This Toronto Island flower-child sang and danced throughout her childhood for anyone who would listen. The flute came into Rozalind’s life at the age of thirteen, after her grandmother read an article about how playing the flute helped asthmatics learn how to control their breathing better. In fact, it did.

MacPhail pursued a performance degree for flute at the University of Toronto, studying with Douglas Stewart. She then moved to Ottawa to pursue a Masters Degree in Flute Performance with Robert Cram. As Mystery Flute Girl, she has made spontaneous guest appearances with celebrated indie music artists including Yo La Tengo, Great Lake Swimmers, Constantines, Lou Barlow and many others. With a yen for traveling, she has acquired fans from the most surprising places in Canada and abroad, having become both a long-term resident at the Banff Centre and an Artist-In-Residence at The Atlantic Center for the Arts in Florida, studying with Robert Dick (NYU).

In 2009, MacPhail was invited to the prestigious Dawson City International Short Film Festival where she was an Artist-in-Residence, composing and performing original works in cooperation with Victoria filmmaker Scott Amos. Flexible and intuitive, she collaborates with experimental filmmakers and artists of all sorts.

In 2011, now based in Newfoundland, MacPhail invited emerging and established filmmakers to create 13 short experimental films about St. John's in which she composed and recorded the music. This Painted Houses project, launched in April, earned rave reviews, both at its debut screening in St. John's, and at The Dawson City Short Film Festival.

MacPhail is currently recording a new album.



Performances/news this month
June 2 - St. John's, NL The Bull and Barrell

Website
www.rozalindmacphail.com

Discography
Painted Houses (films, 2011)
Edgework (2007)
Seattle Sessions (2006)
Gas Station Sessions (w. Lindsay Ferguson, 2005)
Good Kissing School (as a member of Lighthousekeepers, 2003)
Thursday Heroes (Compilation, Various Artists, 2003)


SOCAN Connection
Member since 2006

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Rozalind MacPhail


Auteure-compositrice-interprète, multi-instrumentaliste, compositrice de musique du film

La chanson – « Where There is Love » est en ondes...

Bio
Rozalind MacPhail, alias Mystery Flute Girl, est devenue l’une des plus captivantes auteures-compositrices-interprètes et multi-instrumentistes au pays. Elle intègre voix, guitare, flûte, et instruments-jouets dans son univers de chansons et de sons, parlant de gens et de lieux qu’elle connaît.


Cette native de l’île de Toronto chantait et dansait devant qui voulait l’entendre durant son enfance. Elle commence l’étude de la flûte à 13 ans, après que sa grand-mère lui eut lu un article qui décrivait comment cet instrument aidait les asthmatiques à mieux contrôler leur respiration. Et ça a fonctionné.

Rozalind MacPhail a étudié en interprétation de la flûte à l’université de Toronto, avec Douglas Stewart. Elle déménage ensuite à Ottawa pour sa maîtrise avec Robert Cram. Elle a offert des prestations sous le pseudonyme de Mystery Flute Girl, dans les spectacles d’artistes indies comme Yo La Tengo, Great Lake Swimmers, Constantines, Lou Barlow et plusieurs autres. Celle qui adore voyager a des fans dans des coins étonnants au pays et ailleurs, a été résidente au Banff Centre et artiste en résidence au Atlantic Center for the Arts de Floride, étudiant avec Robert Dick de l’université de New York.

En 2009, Rozalind MacPhail est invitée au prestigieux Festival international du court métrage de Dawson City, où elle est artiste en résidence, composant et interprétant de la musique originale en collaboration avec le réalisateur Scott Amos de Victoria. Flexible et intuitive, elle collabore avec des réalisateurs expérimentaux et des artistes de toutes sortes.

En 2011, Rozalind MacPhail, maintenant installée à Terre-Neuve, a invité des réalisateurs d’expérience et de la relève à créer 13 films expérimentaux sur St-Jean, pour lesquels elle a composé et enregistré de la musique. Le projet Painted Houses, lancé en avril, a obtenu des critiques très positives lors de sa première à St-Jean et au Festival international du court métrage de Dawson City.

Rozalind MacPhail enregistre actuellement un nouvel album.



Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
2 juin - St-Jean, T.-N. The Bull and Barrell

Site Internet
www.rozalindmacphail.com

Discographie

Painted Houses (films, 2011)
Edgework (2007)
Seattle Sessions (2006)
Gas Station Sessions (avec Lindsay Ferguson, 2005)
Good Kissing School (membre du groupe Lighthousekeepers, 2003)
Thursday Heroes (Compilation, 2003)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2006