Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Shad


Hip-hop singer-songwriter

Song – "Listen" - Now playing...

Bio
Hip-hop musician Shad was born in Kenya, to Rwandan parents, but was raised in London, Ontario. He is bilingual, speaking English and French, and holds a business degree from Wilfrid Laurier University.

He recorded his debut album When This is Over independently in 2005, financed with $17,500 that he won from Kitchener radio station 91.5 The Beat's "Rhythm of the Future" talent contest. The album stood out for its self-deprecating lyrics – atypical of the braggadocio often found in the rap scene – and for focusing on social causes. For example, the song "I'll Never Understand" examined the Rwandan genocide and included poetry written by his mother.

In 2007, Shad was signed by Black Box Recordings and released his second album, The Old Prince. In 2008, that album received a Juno Award nomination for Rap Recording of the Year and was nominated for the 2008 Polaris Music Prize. The album was also nominated for two MuchMusic Video Awards, and won him a 2009 Indie Award. Shad's third album TSOL, released in 2010, was nominated for the Polaris prize again that year, and earned him the rap recording Juno Award at the 2011 ceremonies. "It’s an honour and definitely something I wasn’t expecting," said Shad after winning the award.

Late in 2010, Shad released two songs with City & Colour (Dallas Green) for their "Shad & Dallas" project: one original song, "Live Forever," and a remix of TSOL's "Listen." Shad has also appeared as a guest musician on songs by Wax Romeo ("Boom Ha"), Grand Analog ("Electric City"), Dirty Circus ("Into the Sun"), Blue Scholars ("The Dawn Song") and Hey Ocean! ("Vagabond").

Performances/news this month
April 16 - New York City, The Studio at Webster Hall
April 17 - Philadelphia, Kungfu Necktie
April 28 - Fort Collins, Colorado, Aggie Theater
April 29 - Denver, Bluebird Theater
Apr 30 - Boulder, Colorado, Fox Theater

Website
www.shadk.com
www.myspace.com/shad

Discography
"Live Forever" / "Listen" remix (w. City & Colour, 2010)
TSOL (2010)
The Old Prince (2007)
When This is Over (2005)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2006

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Shad


Auteur-compositeur-interprète hip-hop

La chanson – « Listen » est en ondes...

Bio
Le musicien de hip-hop Shad est né au Kenya de parents rwandais, mais fut élevé à London, Ontario. Il est bilingue français-anglais et détient un diplôme en commerce de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier.

Il enregistre son premier album When This is Over en 2005, le finançant avec la bourse de 17 500$ remportée au concours Rhythm of the Future de la station de radio 91,5 The Beat, de Kitchener. L’album se distingue par son autodérision – se démarquant du machisme souvent présent sur la scène rap– et par son accent sur les causes sociales. Par exemple, la chanson « I'll Never Understand » examine le génocide rwandais et inclut de la poésie écrite par sa mère.

En 2007, Shad signe un contrat avec Black Box Recordings et lance son second album, The Old Prince. En 2008, cet album est mis en nomination aux Juno dans la catégorie Enregistrement rap de l’année et est également en nomination aux prix Polaris et dans deux catégories des MuchMusic Video Awards, en plus de remporter un Indie Award en 2009. Son troisième album, TSOL, lancé en 2010, est encore une fois en nomination aux prix Polaris et remporte le Juno 2010 de l’Enregistrement rap de l’année. « C’est un honneur que je n’attendais vraiment pas, » déclare Shad.

Plus tard en 2010, Shad lance deux chansons dans le cadre du projet Shad & Dallas de City & Colour (Dallas Green) : une chanson originale, « Live Forever » et un remix de « Listen », de TSOL. Shad est aussi invité comme musicien sur des chansons de Wax Romeo (« Boom
Ha »), Grand Analog (« Electric City »), Dirty Circus (« Into the Sun »), Blue Scholars (« The Dawn Song ») et Hey Ocean! (« Vagabond »).


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
16 avril - New York City, The Studio at Webster Hall
17 avril - Philadelphie, Kungfu Necktie
28 avril - Fort Collins, Colorado, Aggie Theater
29 avril - Denver, Bluebird Theater
30 avril - Boulder, Colorado, Fox Theater

Site Internet
www.shadk.com
www.myspace.com/shad


Discographie

« Live Forever » / « Listen » remix (avec City & Colour, 2010)
TSOL (2010)
The Old Prince (2007)
When This is Over (2005)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2006