Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Simon Bousquet


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Fil d'Ariane" - Now playing...

Bio
Quebec’s Quiet Revolution, which culminated in 1970 with the October Crisis, triggered an identity crisis that still endures in that province. As a young man, Simon Bousquet could not escape this fact. Immersed in American culture like most teenagers of his generation, he started singing at the age of 17 – in English.

Born in the predominantly French-speaking East end of Montreal, Bousquet got his rock 'n' roll education in such Anglophone bands as The Shift (1994-1999) and Leap (2001-2008). In 2003, an important year from that period of Bousquet’s life, Leap was the only band representing Canada at Emergenza, the European and North American music festival being held in Paris, France, that year. Leap’s Brit-rock was a highlight of the festival, with “singer-songwriter Simon Bousquet’s powerful and melodious voice” being praised by the audience and critics alike.

The year 2008 marked a new beginning for Bousquet, when he embarked on a solo career as a Francophone singer. He hooked up with British-born producer Neil O’Connor (Too Many Cooks, Nico Lelièvre, Dédé Tracké, Papillon) of Productions i2i in the Mile End neighbourhood of Montreal, and asked him to produce his new Francophone material. This “reasonable accommodation” produced the 2010 Antigravité album, an invitation to the playgrounds of this Montreal artist’s life.


Performances/news this month
July 25 - Vieux Terrebonne, Quebec, Benefit show for a childrens' aid centre

Website
www.simonbousquet.com 

Discography

Antigravité (2010)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1998

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Simon Bousquet


Auteur-compositeur-interprète

La chanson - « Fil d'Ariane » est en ondes...

Bio
La révolution tranquille qui atteint son paroxysme avec la crise d’octobre 1970 marque le début d’une longue crise identitaire qui perdure toujours au Québec. Le jeune Simon Bousquet n’échappera pas à ce fait. Imprégné de culture américaine — comme la plupart des ados de sa génération — c’est en anglais qu’il chantera pour la première fois, à 17 ans.


Né dans l’Est de Montréal, Simon Bousquet fait ses classes au sein de groupes rock anglophone, The Shift (1994-1999) et Leap (2001-2008). En 2003, point marquant de cette période, Leap est la seule formation à représenter le Canada au Festival International Emergenza, tenu à Paris, en France. Leap et son Brit-rock font sensation! La « voix puissante et mélodieuse de l’auteur-compositeur-interprète Simon Bousquet » séduit instantanément le public et la critique.

En 2008, nouveau tournant, double détour : dorénavant, Simon Bousquet fera cavalier seul et troquera la langue de Shakespeare pour celle de Molière... et s’associe à un réalisateur d’origine britannique du Mile-End : Neil O’Connor (réalisateur de Too Many Cooks, Nico Lelièvre, Dédé Tracké, Papillon) des Productions i2i lui propose d’enregistrer son nouveau matériel francophone. Accommodements des plus raisonnables, il va sans dire. C’est ainsi qu’en 2010 l’album Antigravitè voit le jour. L’artiste montréalais nous y invite à ses terrains de jeux de la vie.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
25 juillet - Vieux Terrebonne, QC, Spectacle-bénéfice pour un centre d'aide aux enfants en
                   difficulté

Site Internet
www.simonbousquet.com

Discographie
Antigravitè (2010)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1998