Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Slakah the Beatchild / Slakadeliqs


Singer-songwriter, producer, multi-instrumentalist


Song – "When the World Falls Apart"
- Now playing...

Bio
Bridging the underground hip-hop sound of J Dilla and Pete Rock with the neo-soul of artists like Dwele and Raphael Saadiq, Toronto-based producer, multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter Slakah the Beatchild first appeared in 2007, producing Canadian R&B and hip-hop artists like Arabesque, Ayah, and G. Stokes. Entering the business through audio engineering, Slakah earned respect with his hard work ethic, gaining the trust of artists along the way. He began to suggest a lyric here and there to the artists he was producing, which eventually led to his becoming a songwriter. But he kept some songs for himself.

The best of these numbers appeared on Soul Movement, Vol. 1, his debut album released in 2008, a brilliant collection of instrumentals, collaborations and solo efforts. With lyrics mentioning artists like De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest, the album's soulful single "What's This Feeling" explained the old-school spirit Slakah was striving to capture. Soulful chords, warm harmonies and intricate progressions are at the root of his unique feel-good sound. Guest artists featured on the album included Divine Brown, Shad, Ayah, Drake (who has called Slakah "one of my favourite producers I ever worked with") and Melanie Durrant.

Raised on old-school soca, calypso, reggae and classic soul, Slakah has a true appreciation for the writing styles, musicianship, recording and mixing techniques of the early analog years. When he was very young, his Grenadian-born parents would give him 8-track tapes of everyone from The Fat Boys to Bobby McFerrin. In no time, the Beatchild wanted to learn how to play the music he loved listening to, and his parents enrolled him in drum, piano, violin and vocal lessons. His natural talent, coupled with the music theory he was learning, helped build a strong foundation for a unique sound.

Today, after four years of writing, experimenting and exploring many different musical influences, Slakah the Beatchild has released the debut album by his alter ego, The Slakadeliqs, entitled The Other Side of Tomorrow. The album is available for “pay what you can, with no minimum” download on the Band Camp website. Skalah explains, “What’s most important to me is that as many people have access to my music. I know times are rough right now and even if you don’t have the dough you still deserve to have great music. But in addition to this, I want the people to decide for themselves what the value of these songs are to them.

Website
http://theslakadeliqs.bandcamp.com/
http://www.myspace.com/slakahthebeatchild

Discography
The Other Side of Tomorrow (Slakadeliqs, 2012)
Soul Movement, Vol. 1 (2008)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Slakah the Beatchild / Slakadeliqs


Auteur-compositeur-interprète, producteur, multi-instrumentiste

La chanson – « When the World Falls Apart » est en ondes...


Bio

Il fusionne le son hip-hop underground de J Dilla et Pete Rock et le néo-soul d’artistes comme Dwele et Raphael Saadiq : l’auteur-compositeur-interprète, producteur et multi-instrumentiste Slakah the Beatchild de Toronto s’est fait connaître dès 2007 en produisant des artistes canadiens hip-hop et R&B comme Arabesque, Ayah et G. Stokes. Il a fait ses débuts comme ingénieur de son, gagnant leur respect grâce à son éthique de travailleur acharné. Puis il a suggéré des paroles ici et là aux artistes qu’il produisait, pour finir par écrire des chansons au complet. Il en a aussi conservé pour lui.

Les meilleures apparaissent sur Soul Movement, Vol. 1, son premier album lancé en 2008 : il s’agit d’une brillante collection de pièces instrumentales, de collaborations et de solos. Son titre « What's This Feeling » fait référence à des artistes comme De La Soul et A Tribe Called Quest, soulignant son style inspiré de la vieille école. Son son est caractérisé par des harmonies chaleureuses, des progressions raffinées et des cordes soul. Divine Brown, Shad, Ayah, Drake (qui a dit de Slakah qu’il était « l’un de ses producteurs favoris ») et Melanie Durrant collaborent à l’album.

Slakah, qui a une bonne connaissance du soul classique, du calypso et du reggae, a une grande appréciation des techniques d’enregistrement et de mixage, des styles d’écriture et de la musique des années analogiques. Ses parents, originaires de la Grenade, lui donnaient des cassettes huit pistes lorsqu’il était enfant. C’est ainsi qu’il découvre les musiques d’artistes comme The Fat Boys ou Bobby McFerrin. Il a rapidement voulu apprendre à jouer comme ces musiciens qu’il aimait tant, et ses parents l’inscrivent à des cours de chant, de piano, violon et percussions. Son talent naturel et ses cours de théorie musicale l’ont aidé à jeter les bases de son son unique.

Après quatre ans d’écriture, d’expérimentation et d’exploration de plusieurs différentes influences musicales, Slakah the Beatchild a lancé le premier album de son alter ego, The Slakadeliqs, The Other Side of Tomorrow. Il est disponible en téléchargement sur le site Band Camp au prix de « payez ce que vous pouvez, pas de minimum ». Slakah explique : « La chose la plus importante pour moi est qu’un maximum de gens aient accès à ma musique. Je sais que les temps sont durs et même si vous n’avez pas d’argent, vous méritez d’avoir accès à de la bonne musique. En plus, je veux que les gens décident par eux-mêmes la valeur de mes chansons.»


Site Internet
http://theslakadeliqs.bandcamp.com/
http://www.myspace.com/slakahthebeatchild

Discographie
The Other Side of Tomorrow (Slakadeliqs, 2012)
Soul Movement, Vol. 1 (2008)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2004