Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Tanya Philipovich


Singer-songwriter

Song – "Holy Tomato" - Now playing...

Bio
The music of Toronto-based singer/songwriter Tanya Philipovich has been described as “Freak Folk.” Her songs are poetically driven, melodically interesting and generally performed with one voice and one guitar to exhibit the song and nothing more.

Philipovich has released her second album titled Secret Fiction Romance, on Toronto indie label Doin’ Time Records. It was recorded and produced by guitarist Dan Walsh (Fred Eaglesmith, Willie P. Bennett, Corb Lund) at his Cozy Little Shack on Lake Erie Studio. Her debut solo album, Keep On It, has been embraced by loyal fans in Toronto, Montreal, New York and Vancouver. It was recorded with double bassist Drew Birston (Chantal Kreviazuk, Wild Strawberries) and produced by Brent Bodrug and B Group Music.

Getting her start in Vancouver at the age of 14, Philipovich began singing her songs in cafés, clubs and on outdoor stages. She started no less than three rock bands, and achieved some moderate success with college radio darlings Sneeker.

She looks forward to taking Secret Fiction Romance on the road, with a cross-Canada tour in the works for 2011.


Performances/news this month
Oct. 12 - Toronto, The Avro
Oct. 30 - Cambridge, ON, The Groove Kitchen

Website
www.myspace.com/tanyaphilipovich/

Discography
Secret Fiction Romance (2009)
Keep On it (2006)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Tanya Philipovich


Auteure-compositrice-interprète

La chanson - « Holy Tomato » est en ondes...

Bio
La musique de l’auteure-compositrice et interprète de Toronto Tanya Philipovich a été décrite comme du « freak folk » » Ses chansons sont d’inspiration poétique, mélodiquement intéressantes et habituellement interprétées par une seule voix accompagnée d’une guitare pour ne présenter que la chanson et rien d’autre.

Tanya Philipovich a lancé son deuxième album intitulé Secret Fiction Romance, sur l’étiquette torontoise indépendante Doin’ Time Records. Il a été enregistré et produit par le guitariste Dan Walsh (Fred Eaglesmith, Willie P. Bennett, Corb Lund) dans son Cozy Little Shack dans le Lake Erie Studio. L’album solo de ses débuts, Keep On It, a été très apprécié de ses fidèles admirateurs de Toronto, Montréal, New York et Vancouver. Il a été enregistré par le double bassiste Drew Birston (Chantal Kreviazuk, Wild Strawberries) et produit par Brent Bodrug et B Group Music.

Ayant commencé à Vancouver à l’âge de 14 ans, Tanya Philipovich a d’abord chanté dans les cafés, les clubs et sur les scènes extérieures. Elle a fondé pas moins de trois groupes rock, et a connu un certain succès dans une radio universitaire.

Elle prévoit faire une tournée avec le contenu de Secret Fiction Romance d’un bout à l’autre du Canada en 2011.


Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
12 octobre - Toronto, The Avro
30 octobre - Cambridge, Ont., The Groove Kitchen

Site Internet
www.myspace.com/tanyaphilipovich

Discographie
Secret Fiction Romance (2009)
Keep On It (2006)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2004