Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


The D Project


Stéphane Desbiens and Francis Foy, Songwriters of the group The D Project

Song – "Poussière de lumière" - Now playing...

Bio
Have you heard of The D Project yet? It’s a music project from Quebec City that recently released its third album in five years, boasting a stellar lineup from the major leagues of British, Sweedish, Polish and American progressive music, including Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel), Thomas Bodin (The Flower Kings) and Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater), to name only a few. A critical success in the specialty progressive rock press around the world, The D Project is viewed as a leader of the Quebec scene of the genre.

Formed in 2006 by the singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Stéphane Desbiens and the lyricist and producer Francis Foy, The D Project’s debut album, Shimmering Lights, was evocative of music styles ranging from Pink Floyd to Genesis through King Crimson.

The band’s 2008 release, Sagarmatha Dilemma, was inspired by images taken during the conquest of Mount Everest by the mountain climber Maxime Jean, and was used as a soundtrack for the Everest documentary. The collaboration brought Desbiens and his fellow musicians Mathieu Gossellin (basse) and Jean Gossellin (drums) to perform in Quebec City’s Salle Albert-Rousseau, as well as in Europe, in 2009.

The D Project’s third release, Big Face (2011), includes nine tracks enriched by exceptional musical contributions by the likes of Tony Levin, Bartek Kossowicz, Lalle Larsson and Claire Vezina, with part of the album being helmed by Pink Floyd producer Andy Jackson. Once again, Stéphane Desbiens’ sometimes subtle, sometimes screeching guitar work shines through in a no-holes-barred progressive symphonic rock experience. With contributions by Francis Foy as lyricist and producer, Big Face is looking back to the band’s initial influences of “Pink Floyd meets classic rock.”


Website
www.thedproject.com

Discography
Big Face (2011)
Sagarmatha Dilemma (2008)
Shimmering Lights (2006)

SOCAN Connection
Stéphane Desbiens, member since 1992
Francis Foy, member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


The D Project


Auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes du groupe The D Project Stéphane Desbiens et Francis Foy

La chanson – « Poussière de lumière » est en ondes...

Bio
The D Project, vous connaissez ? Non ? Et pourtant, ce projet musical de Québec en est déjà à son troisième album en cinq ans. Ses collaborateurs prestigieux issus des ligues majeures de la musique progressive proviennent d’Angleterre, de la Suède, de la Pologne et des Etats-Unis, de Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel) à Thomas Bodin (The Flower Kings) en passant par Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater) pour ne nommer que ceux-là. Mondialement encensé par la presse spécialisée, « The D Project » est reconnu comme un des leaders québécois du rock progressif actuel.

C’est en 2006 que le chanteur, compositeur et multi-instrumentiste Stéphane Desbiens et l’auteur Francis Foy fondent The D Project. Le premier album, Shimmering Lights, évoque différents styles musicaux; de Pink Floyd à Genesis en passant par King Crimson.

En 2008, c’est la sortie de l’album Sagarmatha Dilemma , dont la musique est inspirée des images du Mont Everest et de sa conquête par l’alpiniste Maxime Jean. Le documentaire Everest propose d’ailleurs la musique du D Project en trame sonore. Cette collaboration amènera Stéphane et ses collaborateurs, Mathieu Gossellin (basse) et Jean Gossellin (batterie), à se produire à la Salle Albert-Rousseau de Québec et en Europe en 2009.

Pour 2011, avec Big Face, The D Project propose un 3e opus constitué de neuf pièces enrichies par l’apport exceptionnel de collaborateurs tels que Tony Levin, Bartek Kossowicz, Lalle Larsson et Claire Vezina. Une partie du son de l’album est confiée à Andy Jackson, ingénieur de son de Pink Floyd. Encore une fois, les guitares tantôt subtiles et souvent décapantes de Stéphane Desbiens s’imposent à travers une expérience de rock symphonique progressif éclatée. Soutenu par Francis Foy aux textes et à la réalisation, l’album Big Face renoue avec ses premières influences. C’est « Pink Floyd à la rencontre du rock classique ».


Site Internet
www.thedproject.com

Discographie

Big Face (2011)
Sagarmatha Dilemma (2008)
Shimmering Lights (2006)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Stéphane Desbiens est membre depuis 1992
Francis Foy est membre depuis 2004