Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Thom Swift


Folk/blues/roots singer-songwriter

Song – "One Way Track" - Now Playing ...

Bio
Thom Swift’s second solo album Blue Sky Day is full of life lessons from a naturally gifted musician and songwriter with a lifetime of experience to draw upon; lessons about how to live, how to love, and how to have a good time, taught with agile fingers on vintage guitars and a richly textured voice.

When he released his solo debut Into the Dirt in 2007, Swift’s musical reputation had already been established with years of touring and recording with the acclaimed blues/jazz group Hot Toddy, balancing sophisticated playing with an earthy intensity. Into the Dirt was a landmark record, picking up an East Coast Music Award, a Maple Blues Award and a Galaxie Rising Star prize in 2008. Listeners were pleased to hear Swift’s soulful voice in a fresh musical context, blending his vivid storytelling and his blues and folk influences in new combinations.

On Blue Sky Day, Swift challenges himself, and the collaborators who made Into the Dirt such a success, to take his songs to an even higher level. The insights are deeper, the emotions are rawer, and the sound is bigger than before. Swift and his group seek to take his reputation for honest, intimate songs and shake it by the roots, with vibrant surprises like the fierce electric blues “One Way Track” and the flat-out rocker “Killer”. On Blue Sky Day, Swift digs deep to chronicle his life’s progress, from leaving the nest to battling his demons to finding hope in love and family.

Swift worked with the same core of musicians that helped set his songs apart on Into the Dirt. Percussionist Geoff Arsenault (Ray Bonneville, Mary Jane Lamond), bassist Brian Bourne (Rawlins Cross), guitarist Chris Corrigan (Rita MacNeil, Mary Jane Lamond) and keyboard guru Bill Stevenson formed his “dream band.” Also included on this project is friend and rising blues star Matt Anderson, who graces three songs with distinctive backing vocals. Multi-talented Nova Scotia musician J.P. Cormier plays mandolin and violin on several songs. And Swift himself plays a trio of instrumental songs that display his ease at painting pictures with his guitar.

Performances/news this month
Blue Sky Day - Album Release Tour
March 19 - Fredericton, The Playhouse
March 20 - New Glasgow, Glasgow Square
March 25 - Riverview, Riverview Arts Centre
March 26 - Saint John, The Blue Olive
March 27 - Charlottetown, The Mack
March 31 - Halifax, Casino Nova Scotia, Compass Room

Website
www.thomswift.com

Discography
Solo
Blue Sky Day (2010)
Into the Dirt (2007)
With Hot Toddy
Trio (2006)
Live at the Black Box (2005)
Salty Sessions Vol. 2 (2004)
Salty Sessions Vol. 1 (2003)
Anyday (2002)
Shoe Factory (2000)
Hot Toddy (1998)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 1997

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Thom Swift


Auteur-compositeur-interprète de folk/blues/roots

La chanson - « One Way Track » est en ondes...

Bio
Le second album solo de Thom Swift, Blue Sky Day, est rempli de leçons de vie de ce musicien et auteur aux talents naturels, qui écrit sur ses expériences de toute une vie : leçons sur comment vivre, aimer et avoir du bon temps, avec des airs fignolés sur des guitares
« vintage » et grâce à sa voix richement texturée.

Au lancement de son premier album solo Into the Dirt en 2007, la réputation de Swift était déjà bien établie après des années de tournées et d’enregistrements avec le groupe blues/jazz Hot Toddy, qui possède un son sophistiqué et une grande intensité. Into the Dirt fut un album primé au gala de l’Association de la musique de la Côte Est, au gala Maple Blues et à titre d’Étoile montante Galaxie en 2008. La voix pleine de soul de Swift était mise en valeur dans un tout nouveau contexte musical, mélangeant des influences blues et folk dans de nouvelles combinaisons.

Dans Blue Sky Day, Swift se met au défi, avec ses collaborateurs de Into the Dirt, d’atteindre un nouveau sommet. Les émotions sont plus vives, le son plus riche et les idées plus subtiles. Swift et son groupe dépoussièrent le style des chansons honnêtes et intimes en insérant des surprises comme les blues électriques de « One Way Track » et le rock sans compromis de « Killer ». Dans Blue Sky Day, Swift creuse profondément pour faire une chronique des progrès de sa vie, du départ de son nid familial au combat contre ses démons en passant par l’amour et la famille.

Swift a travaillé avec le même groupe de collaborateurs que sur Into the Dirt, le percussionniste Geoff Arsenault (Ray Bonneville, Mary Jane Lamond), bassiste Brian Bourne (Rawlins Cross), guitariste Chris Corrigan (Rita MacNeil, Mary Jane Lamond) et claviériste Bill Stevenson, son équipe de « rêve ». On retrouve aussi la marque de l’étoile montante du blues, Matt Anderson, qui chante sur trios chansons. Le musicien néo-brunswickois J.P. Cormier y joue de la mandoline et du violon, tandis que Swift lui-même interprète un trio de pièces instrumentales qui dénotent son doigté habile à la guitare.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
Blue Sky Day - Tournée de lancement de l'album
19 mars - Fredericton, The Playhouse
20 mars - Nouveau Glasgow, Square Glasgow
25 mars - Riverview, Centre Riverview Arts
26 mars - Saint-Jean, The Blue Olive
27 mars - Charlottetown, The Mack
31 mars - Halifax, Casino Nova Scotia, Salle Compass

Site Internet
www.thomswift.com

Discographie
Solo
Blue Sky Day (2010)
Into the Dirt (2007)
Avec Hot Toddy
Trio (2006)
Live at the Black Box (2005)
Salty Sessions Vol. 2 (2004)
Salty Sessions Vol. 1 (2003)
Anyday (2002)
Shoe Factory (2000)
Hot Toddy (1998)

Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 1997