Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive


Treasa Levasseur


Singer-songwriter, accordionist, keyboardist

Song – "Good Ones Never Share" - Now playing...

Bio
Everything about Treasa Levasseur, and the songs she writes, is as true as a carpenter’s rule. There are plenty of singers who plumb the depths of personal experience, but few have Levasseur's sense of humour, or her sharp eye for detail. The passion and fire of her first album, Not a Straight Line, has been applied to even better songs on her second and latest recording, Low Fidelity. The sophomore album is a collection of personal songs and stories, but it's never mawkish or sentimental.

Levasseur plays piano, accordion, guitar and mandolin. In May 2008, she won CBC Radio’s "Ultimate Sideman Showdown" with her trusty accordion and charming stage presence. Heavily influenced by such soulful artists as Mavis Staples, Carole King and Annie Lennox, she remains musically versatile and has played everything from heavy metal to hip-hop, country, sugary pop, and thoughtful folk music. Since first visiting the South in 2006, she's begun to draw more of her inspiration from classic old-school soul.


Above all, Levasseur has a passion for making music. She simply wants to play — and, in addition to her own career, she makes the time to play with at least three other bands regularly in her longtime hometown of Toronto. In the summer of 2008, she played festivals across the country almost every single weekend as a member of Claire Jenkins’ band. You
can find her most Thursdays playing with singer songwriter Corin Raymond at the Cameron House. And she’ll pop up at tiny bars in the city's Parkdale neighbourhood, singing backup or squeezing the accordion for whoever’s onstage.

She’s also been a welcome player at recording sessions for more than a dozen other distinctive musicians, including Raymond, The Undesirables, Evalyn Parry, Justin Rutledge, Madison Violet, David Baxter and many others.

Performances/news this month
July 14 - St. John's, NL, Wreckhouse Jazz & Blues festival
July 16-18 - Perth, ON, Stewart Park Festival
July 30 - North Bay, ON, The Boat
July 31 - Westport, ON, Private Party
August 6 - Brampton, ON, The Rose Theatre

Website
www.treasalevasseur.com
www.myspace.com/treasalevasseur

Discography
Low Fidelity (2008)
Not a Straight Line (2006)

SOCAN Connection
Member since 2004

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive


Treasa Levasseur


Auteure-compositrice-interprète, accordéoniste, claviériste

La chanson - « Good Ones Never Share » est en ondes...

Bio
Tout ce qui concerne Treasa Levasseur et les chansons qu’elle écrit est authentique. Plein de chanteurs expriment leur vécu, mais peu ont le sens de l’humour de Treasa et son souci du détail. La passion et le feu qui animaient son premier album, Not a Straight Line, ont été mis en relief encore plus dans son récent Low Fidelity. Ce second opus est une collection d’histoires personnelles qui n’ont rien de mièvre ou de sentimental.

Treasa Levasseur joue du piano, de la guitare, de l’accordéon et de la mandoline. En mai 2008, elle remportait le concours « Ultimate Sideman Showdown » de la radio de la CBC avec son accordéon et sa présence sur scène. Très influencée par des artistes comme Mavis Staples, Carole King et Annie Lennox, elle demeure versatile musicalement et a produit de tout, du heavy métal au hip-hop, en passant par le country, la pop et le folk. Depuis une visite dans le Sud des États-Unis en 2006, elle s’intéresse aussi au soul classique.

Par-dessus tout, Treasa Levasseur a la passion de la musique. Elle veut simplement jouer – et en plus de sa carrière solo, elle fait partie de trois autres groupes auxquels elle collabore régulièrement à Toronto. Durant l’été 2008, elle s’est produite dans des festivals partout au pays dans le groupe de Claire Jenkins. Elle joue habituellement le jeudi au Cameron House avec l’auteur Corin Raymond. Et on peut la voir dans de petits bars du quartier Parkdale, soit comme choriste ou accordéoniste afin d’accompagner les artistes à l’affiche.

C’est sans compter ses participations aux enregistrements d’une douzaine d’autres musiciens, incluant Corin Raymond, The Undesirables, Evalyn Parry, Justin Rutledge, Madison Violet, David Baxter et plusieurs autres.

Spectacles/nouvelles du mois
14 juillet– St-Jean, T.-N., festival Wreckhouse Jazz & Blues
16-18 juillet - Perth, Ont., Festival Stewart Park
30 juillet - North Bay, Ont., The Boat
31 juillet - Westport, Ont., soirée privée
6 août- Brampton, Ont., The Rose Theatre

Site Internet
www.treasalevasseur.com
www.myspace.com/treasalevasseur


Discographie
Low Fidelity (2008)
Not a Straight Line (2006)


Lien avec la SOCAN
Membre depuis 2004