Give us your feedback

What's new at SOCAN
and in the music industry

SOCAN Interactive

Not only has the Internet transformed the way music is distributed and consumed, but - as the European music industy now faces - how it is licensed. Chistian Sarrazin, SOCAN's Vice President - Industry Relations and Strategic Intelligence, examines Europe's struggle with the licensing of music for online and mobile usage on a pan-European basis, and why North American songwriters and publishers should be concerned.

If you have questions beyond those listed here, call our Information Centre, toll-free, at 1-866-307-6226, or e-mail us at members@socan.com.


Christian Sarrazin

Christian Sarrazin, Vice President - Industry Relations and Strategic Intelligence of SOCAN, focuses on the epoch-changing state of the music industry with the advent of Internet and the spreading of mobile telecommunications. He monitors business and technology trends, assesses their implications, and spearheads SOCAN’s thrust in making the right decisions to mitigate threats and risks, and capitalize on opportunities. He is also assuming executive-level representation for SOCAN on various international organizations such as CISAC and FastTrack.

Sarrazin has some 30 years of experience as a diplomat and a senior business executive. Trained as an economist, he is a graduate of McGill University (B.A. Honours) in Canada, and Université catholique de Louvain (M.A.) in Belgium.


Return to video player

Actualité de la SOCAN
et de l'industrie musicale

SOCAN Interactive

L'Internet a non seulement transformé la façon dont la musique est distribuée et consommée, mais - comme l'industrie musicale européenne en fait l'expérience - comment les licences sont émises. Chistian Sarrazin, vice-président, Relations sectorielles et veille stratégique à la SOCAN, examine les enjeux posés en Europe par l'émission de licences de musique en ligne et mobile au niveau paneuropéen, et pourquoi les auteurs-compositeurs et éditeurs nord-américains devraient se sentir concernés par cette situation.

Si vous avez des questions dont vous ne trouvez pas la réponse ici, communiquez avec notre Centre d’information au numéro sans frais 1-866-317-6226, ou envoyez-nous un courriel à members@socan.com.


Christian Sarrazin

Christian Sarrazin, vice-président, Relations sectorielles et veille stratégique à la SOCAN, se concentre sur les enjeux de l’industrie musicale dans cette ère de changements dus à l’arrivée de l’Internet et des communications mobiles. Il veille à suivre les tendances d’affaires et de technologie afin d’étudier leurs implications et contribue aux décisions de la SOCAN afin de diminuer les risques et menaces et de capitaliser sur les occasions d’affaires. Il représente la direction de la SOCAN aux conseils de différentes organisations internationales comme la CISAC et FastTrack.

Christian possède 30 ans d’expérience comme diplomate et cadre de haut rang. Formé en économie, Christian Sarrazin possède un baccalauréat de l’Université McGill et une maîtrise de l’Université catholique de Louvain, en Belgique.


Retour au lecteur vidéo