Brett Kissel wins four prizes, including Male Artist of the Year, at 2017 Country Music Awards

Brett Kissel won the 2017 Country Music Awards for Male Artist, Interactive Artrist, Video, and Country Music Program or Special of the Year.
September 13, 2017

Brett Kissel was the big winner at the 2017 Country Music Awards in Saskatoon, where he took home four honours: Male Artist, Video (for song "I Didn’t Fall in Love with Your Hair"), Interactive Artrist, and Country Music Program or Special of the Year (for Home Movie, produced by Corus Entertainment).

The latter two honours were presented at the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) Gala Dinner & Awards, presented by SOCAN at the Grand Salon at TCU Place on Saturday, Sept. 9, 2017. Among the other winners that night, The Washboard Union won Roots Artist or Group of the Year for the second consecutive year; Dean Brody took home his second consecutive Songwriter of the Year Award, this time for his song “Time”; ole won the Music Publishing Company of the Year; and Paul Brandt was inducted into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame in the artist category.

At the nationally televised CCMA Awards show, held the next night at the SaskTel Centre, in addition to Kissel winning his two other awards, Meghan Patrick claimed Female Artist of the Year; Dallas Smith took home Single of the Year for “Autograph," and Album of the Year for Side Effects; The Road Hammers won Group of the Year; and Dean Brody won the Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award.

Throughout Canadian Country Music Week (CCMW) conference and festival leading up to the awards shows, SOCAN presented No. 1 Song Awards for six songs, as follows:

The James Barker Band celebrate James Barker’s three No. 1 Song Awards. Left to right: Connor Stephen, James Barker, Taylor Abram, Bobby Martin.

Three songs performed by The James Barker Band were honoured with SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards for their co-writers and co-publishers. "Lawn Chair Lazy," "Just Sayin'," and "Chills" were all co-written by James Barker, Gavin Slate, and Travis Wood, and co-published by ole. "Just Sayin'" is co-published by Egg Songs/Downtown Music, and "Chills" is co-written by Donovan Woods, and co-published by Warner Chappell Music Canada Ltd., and Woods' own imprint, Meant Well Inc. All three songs peaked on the CMT Countdown Chart: "Lawn Chair Lazy" on July 22, 2017, "Just Sayin'" on Feb. 4, 2017, and "Chills" on May 27, 2017. The latter also reached the top of the Nielson BDS Country Chart on June 19, 2017.

“Lawn Chair Lazy” co-writers Gavin Slate and Travis Wood with their SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards. Left to right: John Ozier of music publisher ole, Slate, Wood, Gilles Godard of ole.

"Slide Over," written and performed by Tim Hicks, peaked on the CMT Countdown Chart on July 22, 2017.

Tim Hicks with his SOCAN No, 1 Song Award. Left to right: SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste; SOCAN Director, A&R, Rodney Murphy; producer Corey Crowder; Hicks; SOCAN Chief Membership and Business Development Officer Michael McCarty; and Denny Carr of Open Road Recordings.

"Time," written and performed by Dean Brody. and published by Scurvy Dog Music Inc., scaled the peak of the CMT Countdown Chart on Feb. 18, 2017.

Dean Brody with his latest SOCAN No. 1 Song Award. Left to right: Producer Matt Rovey, Ron Kitchener of RGK Entertainment Group, which manages Brody; SOCAN’s Eric Baptiste; and Brody.

"I Be U Be,” written by Brad Rempel and Jenson Vaughan, performed by High Valley, and published by Ultra Tunes Canada and Sony / ATV Music Publishing Canada, reached the summit of the CMT Countdown Chart on May 20, 2017, and the Nielsen BDS Country Chart on May 15, 2017.

High Valley’s Brad Rempel earned a SOCAN No. 1 Song Award for co-writing “I Be U Be.” Left to right: SOCAN’s Stan Meissner (President), Michael McCarty, Eric Baptiste; Brad Rempel of High Valley; and SOCAN’s Rodney Murphy.

SOCAN congratulates all of its members who won Canadian Country Music Awards and SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards this year!